Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 20, 2019-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Nafees ton in Bangladesh win

It was the standout effort of one batsman that proved decisive as Zimbabwe suffered a 101-run defeat, writes C S Luthra. Scoreboard

india Updated: Oct 14, 2006 00:38 IST
C Shekhar Luthra
C Shekhar Luthra

The encounter between Bangladesh and Zimbabwe at the Sawai Man Singh Stadium was merely an ego clash, an opportunity for the 22 players to salvage pride for their teams, who are already out of the competition.

However, it was the standout effort of one batsman that proved decisive as Zimbabwe suffered a comprehensive 101-run defeat at the hands of Bangladesh.

Asked to bat first, Bangladesh crawled to 231 for six in 50 overs, after a record batting performance by opener Shahriar Nafees.

His unbeaten knock of 123 was not only responsible for taking his team to a fighting total but also saw him set two minor records — this was the highest individual score by a Bangladeshi, and he also became the only batsman for his country to score two ODI hundreds.

Not surprisingly, the 200-plus total proved just too much for the Zimbabwean batsmen. Despite opener Brendan Taylor’s 52, 130 was all they could muster.

Zimbabwe were not done in by the brilliant bowling by the Bangladesh bowlers, rather, their inability to put their bats in the line of the ball proved their downfall.

Most of their batsmen fell to harmless, straight deliveries from the left-arm spinners, Saqibul Hasan, Abdur Razzak and Mohammad Rafique.

Nafees was declared the Man of the Match.

 Zimbabwe's tale of woes continues
 Buoyant Bangladesh ready to battle
 Underdogs Zimbabweans can surprise any side: Kevin


Bangladesh: Shahriar Nafees, Rajin Saleh, Aftab Ahmed, Saqibul Hasan, Habibul Bashar (capt), Mehrab Hossain jnr, Farhad Reza, Khaled Mashud (wk), Mohammad Rafique, Mashrafe Mortaza,Abdur Razzak

Zimbabwe: Brendon Taylor (wk),Chamu Chibhabha,Hamilton Masakadza, Gregory Strydom, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Elton Chigumbura, Gary Brent, Prosper Utseya (capt), Anthony Ireland, Edward Rainsford, Tafadzwa Kamungozi

First Published: Oct 13, 2006 15:09 IST