Nine BJP ministers, Speaker lose in Gujarat

In spite of the saffron wave, at least nine senior BJP ministers, including former CM Suresh Mehta, and assembly Speaker Dhirubhai Shah lost their seats.

india Updated: Dec 16, 2002 11:27 IST

Despite the saffron wave sweeping major parts of Gujarat, at least nine senior ministers of the BJP including former chief minister Suresh Mehta and Assembly Speaker Dhirubhai Shah met their waterloo in the state assembly elections.

Mehta and Shah lost from Mandvi and Rapar constituencies respectively in the Kutch region, a stronghold of BJP, which was hit hard bya devastating earthquake two years ago.

Prominent losers included the high-profile Gujarat government spokesman and close associate of Narendra Modi, Purushottam Rupala from Amreli of Saurashtra region and state finance minister Nitin Patel from Kadi in Mehsana district of North Gujarat.

Other Cabinet ministers, who tasted defeat include prohibition minister Fakir Vaghela from Surendranagar, irrigation minister Babu Bokhiria from Porbander and minister for labour and employment Kanji Patel from Chikli in South Gujarat.

Minister for state for mines and minerals Mulu Bera from Bhanvad constituency in Saurashtra, MoS co-operation Vadibhai Patel from Gandhinagar and MoS panchayats Ranchhod Desai were also skittled out.

Former Narmada minister Jaynarayan Vyas was also humbled from his hometurf Sidhpur constituency in North Gujarat.

First Published: Dec 15, 2002 17:03 IST