Outdated info on govt websites in J-K
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Outdated info on govt websites in J-K

If you go by the official website of the Jammu and Kashmir government, the state has only 14 districts as against 22.

india Updated: Nov 21, 2010 09:50 IST

If you go by the official website of the Jammu and Kashmir government, the state has only 14 districts as against 22. Official websites of the state government, maintained by Information department and General Administration Department (GAD), also show outdated information about the council of ministers and the administrative set-up. Eight new districts were created in the state during the chief ministership of Ghulam Nabi Azad in 2006.

The districts that have not been mentioned in the website are: Shopian, Kulgam, Bandipora and Ganderbal in Kashmir division; and Kishtwar, Ramban, Reasi and Samba in Jammu division.

According to the official website www.jammukashmir.nic.in, the Omar Abdullah-led council of ministers has not been expanded after it was sworn in on January 5, 2009. The council of ministers was, however, expanded to include 13 more faces in July last year.

The present strength of the council is 22. Then again, Finance Minister Abdul Rahim Rather continues to hold charge of Law and Parliamentary affairs, a portfolio given to Rural Development Minister Ali Mohammad Sagar after the expansion of the ministry in July 2009.

The official website of General Administration Department, a department directly under the charge of Chief Minister Omar Abdullah, is full of old information about officials heading the Kashmir division and several district administrations in the state.

It says Naseema Lankar is still the divisional commissioner of Kashmir division. However, the officer was transferred as Commissioner Secretary in the School Education department in August.

Two deputy commissioners have served in Kargil district in Ladakh region of the state since Riyaz Ahmad Sheikh relinquished the post in 2009. However, the GAD website still has Sheikh listed as the head of the district administration.

The incumbent is N Raju who had taken over from Satish Nehru recently. M K Dwivedi was elevated to the rank of secretary during a cabinet meeting in October and posted in the department of Information Technology, while Deputy Commissioner Leh Sanjeev Verma was posted in his place as deputy commissioner Jammu.

While Dwivedi continues to be listed as deputy commissioner of Jammu, Verma is shown as deputy commissioner of Kathua -- a post he held before being transferred to Leh for overseeing the elections of the Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council -- on the website.

M S Sheikh is the acting deputy commissioner Kathua but finds no mention on the official website. The website maintained by the Kashmir Divisional Commissioner's office has the newly created districts mentioned on it, but there is no information about the geography, demography or administration on the links to these districts.

First Published: Nov 21, 2010 09:49 IST