Pradip Amat elected Orissa Assembly Speaker

Updated on May 25, 2009 03:58 PM IST

Senior BJD leader and former minister Pradip Kumar Amat got unanimously elected the Speaker of Orissa Assembly.

HT Image
HT Image
PTI | By, Bhubhaneshwar

Senior BJD leader and former minister Pradip Kumar Amat was on Monday unanimously elected the Speaker of Orissa Assembly.

Three-time MLA from backward Boudh district, 57-year-old Amat was the lone contender for the post whose name was announced as the Speaker by pro-term speaker V Sugnana Kumari Devi in the Assembly.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik moved a motion mentioning that Amat be chosen the Speaker of the House which was seconded by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Raghunath Mohanty.

Amat, who became member of the Assembly for the first time as an Independent candidate in 2000, was greeted by leaders of both treasury and opposition bench hoping that he would be able to conduct proceedings in the House smoothly in the backdrop of his experience as an advocate.

The new Speaker has the experience of being a member of Assembly's ethics committee. He had been elected to the Assembly twice as BJD candidate and was Steel and Mines Minister in previous Naveen Patnaik-led government.

Leader of Congress Legislature Party Bhupinder Singh, NCP leader Prashant Nanda, BJP leader KV Singhdeo also congratulated Amat after he was declared the Speaker.

"I will try to upkeep the dignity of this august House. However, I seek cooperation of all the members," Amat told the MLAs after assuming the chair.

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, September 29, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals