Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 15, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Zidane, Cannavaro, Ronaldinho shortlisted

All three are shortlisted for the FIFA 'Best player of the year trophy', awarded on December 18, 2006.

india Updated: Dec 01, 2006 18:53 IST

Zinedine Zidane, Fabio Cannavaro and Ronaldinho are the finalists for FIFA's World Player of the Year award.

The selection, announced on Wednesday by soccer's world governing body, was made through voting by coaches and captains of national teams.

Cannavaro, captain of Italy's World Cup winning team, won the Golden Ball on Monday as Europe's best player.

Zidane, who has won the FIFA prize three times, received a red card in the World Cup final against Italy when he headbutted defender Marco Materazzi in the chest. Zidane has since retired from soccer.

Ronaldinho, winner of the last two FIFA player of the year awards, has had a stellar year for Barcelona, leading the Spanish side to last season's Champions League title. But Ronaldinho was a disappointment at the World Cup for Brazil, which was eliminated in the quarterfinals by France.

The prize will be awarded in Zurich on December 18, 2006.

First Published: Dec 01, 2006 18:53 IST