Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 15, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Mulayam Singh Yadav expected to have smooth sailing in Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat

Having won Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat four times in the past, Samajwadi Party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav has vacated this seat twice (2004 and 2014) but this time again the sitting MP and his grandson Tej Pratap Yadav has made way for Mulayam.

lok sabha elections Updated: Apr 22, 2019 14:59 IST
Hemendra Chaturvedi
Hemendra Chaturvedi
Hindustan Times, Agra
lok sabha elections 2019,mainpuri lok sabha seat,mulayam singh yadav
Mulayam Singh Yadav, who is contesting from the Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat, is a four-time MP from this constituency. (HT Photo )

It may appear to be an exaggeration for those not prepared to accept it, but for the loyalists of Samajwadi Party patron Mulayam Singh Yadav, the veteran leader has already won the election the day he filed his nomination paper from Mainpuri.

The Congress has decided not to field a candidate from Mainpuri while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) took too long to name its candidate (Prem Singh Shakya) but not many were anxious to know about it.

Having won Mainpuri four times in the past, Mulayam has vacated this seat twice (2004 and 2014) but this time again the sitting MP and his grandson Tej Pratap Yadav has made way for Mulayam.

Mainpuri continues to be the home turf of Mulayam who, despite having health issues, appeared on the stage with foe-turned-friend BSP president Mayawati.

Mulayam had started his career as a teacher at an intermediate college in Karhal town of Mainpuri district. Mulayam is a household name here having won Lok Sabha elections in 1996, 2004, 2009 and 2014. The favourite slogan of Mulayam’s supporters in Mainpuri is ‘Jiska jalwa kayam hai... uska naam Mulayam hai” (One who continues to call the shots is Mulayam).

Also Read | Lok Sabha 2019 constituency: Mulayam Singh Yadav has won from SP’s bastion Mainpuri four times


Mainpuri was once known as ‘dhaan ka katora’ (rice bowl) for large-scale crop of ‘sela’ (thick) rice supplied to Bihar and even Bangladesh and Pakistan.

The area of Ghiror was known to be the largest ‘mandi’ of garlic in Asia but the demand for creating a ‘garlic zone’ remains unfulfilled leaving farmers prey to traders. Mainpuri is house to state bird ‘saras’ (crane) but shrinking wet land and green cover is making it tough for them to survive.

Farmers are much troubled by the issue of stray animals and ‘van gai’ (jungle cows) remain a menace because of which the farmers turn night watchman to protect their crops. The demand for a cancer hospital is also pending. Ironically, a brand of tobacco known as ‘Mainpuri tobacco’ is popular here.

The district lacks rail connectivity with only one train, Kalindi Express, touching the platform beside two passenger and one weekly special.

Also Read | Mulayam turns emotional: ‘This is my last election, ensure my win’

Political history

The first election of 1952 in Mainpuri saw the victory of the Congress which was followed by the success of the Praja Socialist Party in 1957 but the Congress returned in 1962, 1967, 1971.

The constituency saw the emergence of the Bharatiya Lok Dal (BLD) in 1977 and the Janata Party (Secular) in 1980. Sympathy wave after Indira Gandhi’s assassination in 1984 brought Congress back but Mulayam Singh Yadav became a major factor here by then and his political ‘guru’ and poet Uday Pratap Singh won in 1989 and 1991.

Even while Ram Temple wave swept northern India in the ‘90s but Mainpuri stayed unaffected and Mulayam won from here in 1996 followed by the SP victory in 1998 and 1999 by foe-turned-friend Balram Singh Yadav.

Mulayam returned to his home turf and won in 2004 but vacated the seat which was won by his nephew Dharmendra Yadav in the by-election.

In 2009, Mulayam won from Firozabad again and vacated it allowing his grandson Tej Pratap Yadav to win the seat in the bypoll.

From Amethi, Lucknow to Azamgarh, these UP seats have remained loyal to their parties and leaders

First Published: Apr 22, 2019 14:59 IST

Get the latest news and live updates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019, seat stats, constituency and election news on Follow us on FB and Twitter to get the fastest updates on election results 2019, party-wise votes stats, wins and leads, vote share of parties and many more interesting election facts.