New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Sep 20, 2019-Friday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Friday, Sep 20, 2019

Deadlock over UP assembly committees continues

The deadlock between the ruling BSP and Opposition parties over joining the committees of state assembly continued today, reports M Hasan.

lucknow Updated: Aug 04, 2007 22:37 IST
M Hasan
M Hasan
Hindustan Times

The deadlock between the ruling BSP and Opposition parties over joining the committees of state assembly continued on Saturday. Samajwadi Party and BJP wanted firm assurance from the Mayawati government about protection of their rights in the House before softening their stand on the issue.

The Speaker Sukhdeo Rajbhar had summoned a meeting of all Opposition parties on Saturday to solve the problem arising out of boycott of House committees by the two parties. Both parties had last month announced not to join committees because of dictatorial attitude of the government.

The SP leader Ambika Chaudhury, who represented the party at the meeting, told Hindustan Times that both sides had made efforts to sort out misgivings and find a solution to the stalemate. "The Speaker has assured to protect the rights of the Opposition," Chaudhury said and added "we will now discuss the issue with the leader of Opposition Mulayam Singh Yadav before taking up a final decision". Both side have made efforts to create congenial atmosphere in the House, he said.

The SP and BJP, piqued over sudden sine die adjournment of state assembly on July 17, had announced not to join the House committee in protest. "The talks were held in good atmosphere but a decision is yet to be taken," Chaudhury said.

The Opposition accused the government of ignoring its voice on the floor of the House. The opposition wanted a firm assurance from the government that the government would respect the feelings of the Opposition in conducting the business of the House.

Ministers Lalji Verma, Nasimuddin Siddique, Swami Prasad Maurya Jagdish Narain Rai, Om Prakash Singh (BJP), Kaukab Hamid (Rashitrya Lok Dal) and Pramod Twari (Congress) attended the meeting to thrash out differences.

Om Prakash Singh said the BJP always maintained decorum in the House but the ruling BSP did not listen to the Opposition at the business advisory committee meeting. "The BJP was thus forced to announce the boycott of committees," Singh said. The BJP would review its decision only after a positive response from the government, Singh said. Pramod Tiwari made efforts to end the deadlock.

First Published: Aug 04, 2007 22:35 IST