Today in New Delhi, India
May 13, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Want to turn vegan like Sonam Kapoor and Sunny Leone? All you need to know

Plan to follow in Sonam Kapoor’s footsteps and turn vegan? Here’s all you need to know about veganism

health and fitness Updated: Nov 01, 2016 12:28 IST
Shradha Shahani
Shradha Shahani
Hindustan Times
Sonam Kapoor,Vegan,Veganism
Bollywood actor Sonam Kapoor’s decision to turn vegan recently has drawn attention to the diet once again.(HT Photo)

From full-fledged vegan restaurants to vegan ice cream parlours, there are a number of options available internationally for those who wish to convert, like actresses Sonam Kapoor and Sunny Leone.

City-based student Amrita Gokal, 22, became a vegan while she was studying in London, UK. “Supermarkets in London have a section for vegans. It was easy to find vegan restaurants too. But when I returned to Mumbai, the options became limited. So, I couldn’t do it (stay vegan) anymore,” says Gokal.

In Mumbai, the concept still seems to be making its way into the menus of city eateries. Syesha Kapoor, co-owner, Boveda Bistro, Andheri (W), seconds the thought. “A large number of people are inquisitive, but restaurants that serve only vegan food are not feasible at the moment,” says Kapoor.

Raw Zucchini Pasta Al Fredo

Samir Prasad, who owns a vegan tiffin and delivery service, called Vegan Bites, says he caters to 250 vegans around Mumbai daily. Bollywood actor Sonam Kapoor’s decision to turn vegan recently has drawn attention to the diet once again. Those who are considering adopting a life devoid of milk products and meat need to look no further. Here’s everything you need to know to get started.

Read: 10 of Mumbai’s most delicious vegan meals

In a nutshell

Who is a vegan?
A vegan is a person who avoids consuming any animal products. People choose to convert for environmental, ethical and health reasons.

What can’t a vegan eat?
Milk and milk products:
Curd, cottage cheese, flavoured yoghurt, cheese, buttermilk, chocolates and ice cream

Meat and poultry: Eggs, chicken, pork, fish and mutton

Fats and oil: Ghee, margarine, dairy cream and omega supplements like cod liver oil

Other miscellaneous products: Mayonnaise, honey and marshmallows, as they contain gelatin. One also has to restraint from using leather, fur, silk, wool and cosmetics derived from animal products

What can a vegan eat?
Cereals and millets

Pulses and lentils

Vegetables and fruits

Vanaspati ghee, vegetable oils like mustard oil, cotton seed oil, flax seed oil and canola oil

With inputs from Prachi Sanghvi, nutritionist

First Published: Jul 01, 2016 08:09 IST