Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation polls: Big fights to watch out for

Here are some of the big fights to watch out for this BMC election.

mumbai Updated: Feb 20, 2017 13:42 IST
Tanushree Venkatraman
Tanushree Venkatraman
Hindustan Times
BMC polls,Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation,Mumbai

1. Parag Shah v/s Pravin Chheda

Parag Shah
Pravin Chheda

The heavyweights from Ghatkopar are pitted against each other in ward number 132. Chheda is the sitting corporator from Congress and Shah is a first-time BJP candidate, but a construction giant and a leader from the Jain community.

2. Swapna Deshpande v/s Vishakha Raut

The prestigious Dadar seat will see a tough fight between the Shiv Sena and Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS). While the Sena has fielded ex-mayor Vishakha Raut for ward number 191, MNS has fielded Swapna Deshpande, wife of high-profile sitting corporator Sandeep.

3. Harshita Narvekar v/s Shushma Shekhar

First-time candidate Harshita Narvekar( BJP) has been fielded against sitting Congress Corporator Shushma Shekhar, the daughter-in-law of former legislator from ward number 225 Annie Shekhar.

4. Aakash Purohit v/s Janak Sanghvi

In ward number 221 in south Mumbai, new entrant Aakash Purohit, son of BJP MLA and leader Raj Purohit, has been pitted against former BJP corporator Janak Sanghvi, who is fighting on a Congress ticket.

5. Mangal Bhanushali v/s Bhalchandra Shirsat

Bhalchandra Shirsat

Bhanushali served as the Gujarati cell head of BJP until he defected to the Sena to fight against BJP city unit vice-president Bhalchandra Shirsat. The Sena-BJP fight from ward number 131 in Ghatkopar is one to wait for.

6. Atul Shah v/s Surendra Bagalkar

In ward number 220, which covers Nal Bazaar and Kamathipura, the BJP has fielded Atul Shah, a former MLA who lost the 2014 Assembly polls. Shah will give a close contest to Surendra Bagalkar, the sitting corporator from the Sena.

7. Devendra Amberkar v/s Rohan Rathod

In Andheri, the Sena has fielded Devendra Amberkar, former leader of opposition who left the Congress recently. Ambekar will fight BJP’s Rohan Rathod, brother-in-law of party MLA Amit Satam, who is popular in the area.

8. Mukesh Karia v/s Neil Somaiya

Mukesh Karia

Sena’s only BJP face in Mulund, former BJP functionary Mukesh Karia will fight a tough battle against BJP MP Kirit Somaiya’s son Neil. Both the candidates are contesting for the first time, from ward number 108.

9. Sheetal Mhatre v/s Tejasvi Ghosalkar

Tejasvi Ghosalkar
Sheetal Mhatre

In the city’s first electoral ward - Kandarpada - a sitting corporator from Congress, Sheetal Mhatre, is expected to get a tough fight from Sena’s Tejasvi Ghosalkar, wife of Sena corporator Abhishek Ghosalkar.

10. Kamini Shewale v/s Anita Panchal

Kamini Shewale

In ward number 144, Sena loyalist and MP Rahul Shewale’s wife is contesting against Sena rebel and local corporator Dinesh Panchal’s wife Anita. Panchal joined the BJP recently. The ward covers Deonar, Mankhurd and half of Anushakti Nagar.

11. Asif Zakaria v/s Deryk Talker

Asif Zakaria (Hindustan Times)

In ward number 101, which covers Bandra, Asif Zakaria, sitting corporator from Congress, will face a tough fight from BJP’s citizen candidate Deryk Talker. The ward is known for its civic activism.

Read more: BMC polls: Want to vote tomorrow? Make sure you check your name on the voters’ list. HT tells you how

BMC polls: Whatever be your choice, but please vote, say candidates

First Published: Feb 20, 2017 12:56 IST