Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 11, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Premier Badminton League to be 8-team affair

With the addition of Ahmedabad Smash Masters and Guwahati Eastern Warriors, the Premier Badminton League will not be an eight team affair.

other sports Updated: Aug 16, 2017 22:57 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Premier Badminton League,PV Sindhu,Badminton Association of India
The PV Sindhu-led Chennai Smashers won the Premier Badminton League in early 2017.(PTI)

The next edition of the Premier Badminton League (PBL) will be an eight-team affair with the addition of two more franchises.

Organised under the aegis of the Badminton Association of India (BAI) by Sportzlive, the official license holder of the league, the tournament will now add teams from Guwahati and Ahmedabad as well.

READ | Badminton Association of India makes list of age cheats, to take stringent action

The Ahmedabad team, owned by Padmanabh Sports Pvt. Ltd. which is a subsidiary of Padmanabh Industries Ltd., will be known as the Ahmedabad Smash Masters while the other team has been named Guwahati Eastern Warriors.

The new season will begin on December 22, 2017, and will conclude on January 14, 2018. It will be played in four cities with Chennai hosting the final. The remaining four cities will play host next season.

READ | Indian players dominate latest Badminton World Federation rankings

“I welcome Ahmedabad and Guwahati into the PBL Season 3 fold. It is a true reflection of the popularity of the league and the sport in the country,” BAI president Himanta Biswa Sarma said.

“There is tremendous enthusiasm for badminton across the country. The sport is growing and we believe it will only get bigger and better going forward. I would like to thank the new owners and wish them the very best.”

PBL now will see the 11-point format make way for 15 points with one tie a day. Five matches will comprise a tie. The winners will be getting Rs.6 crore with the runner-up earning Rs.3 crore.

READ | PV Sindhu, Saina Nehwal get 1st round byes at BWF World Championships

Six teams battled for honours and a whopping prize purse of Rs.6 crore last year. The teams were Delhi Acers, Mumbai Rockets, Awadhe Warriors, Hyderabad Hunters, Chennai Smashers and Bengaluru Blasters with the PV Sindhu-led Chennai outfit winning the championship.

First Published: Aug 16, 2017 20:45 IST