New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Feb 18, 2020-Tuesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Abhijeet checkmates Marat

Overall, Gupta won nine games and the lone blemish in the third round was against Ram Prakash.

other Updated: Jan 20, 2008 23:05 IST
Prasavnath Chess
Prasavnath Chess
Hindustan Times

SUNDAY IS a day to relax and indulge.

Falling in line, Abhijeet Gupta, who continued his giant slaying run, got ready to party after annexing the Parsvnath chess title on Sunday.

Playing with white, Gupta employed Dutch Leningrad in the opening against Grandmaster Marat Dzhumaev. In the 23rd move, Gupta made a Nd6 move, in reply to which the Uzbek moved Nd5. In the 24th, Gupta captured Marat's knight and his key move came in the next move when he captured Marat's rook with his knight. The game lasted for 34 moves.

Gupta was elated. "I think it was my day. I was a pawn down and I thought it better to play out a draw than to lose the game. Later, I missed an e3 move, But Marat started playing badly, and that helped me."

Overall, Gupta won nine games and the lone blemish in the third round was against Ram Prakash.

Marat was upset. " I played badly in the middlegame as I miscalculated some moves and variations. It was a wrong decision to play Nd5."

Gupta, 18, pocketed a cash prize of Rs 2.5 lakhs while GM Surya Shekhar Ganguly beat IM Sriram Jha to finish second with 8.5 points and went home richer by Rs 1.6 lakhs.

The third spot, shared by eight players, included names like Prakash, Dzhumaev, Kurnosov, Yuri, Rahman, Ratnakaran, Praveen and Kunte (8 each). Prakash also went on to make his fourth GM norm after beating Venkatesh in the final round.

Debashis Das, who made his IM norm on Saturday, beat GM Pravin Thipsay while WGM Tania Sachdev won against Praful Kumar (ELO 2191).

Elizbar Ubilava (Viswanathan Anand's former coach) beat IM Atanu Lahiri and top seed Ghaem Maghami Ehsaan beat Shashikant Kutwal (ELO 2316) to finish 11th.

Dhaara Gupta and Prasenjit Datta were adjudged the best Delhi players.

Just as this correspondent was about to leave, the notice board displaying the day's newspaper clippings caught her attention. One of the trimmings had been cut neatly along with a portion of the board. It seemed to be the handiwork of a nostalgic soul!