Today in New Delhi, India
May 22, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

KPIT Sparkle 2018: The future of energy, transportation gets the hi-tech treatment

Of 12,000 registrations from more than 600 engineering and science colleges across India, 30 teams shortlisted based on novelty, affordability, and commercial viability of proposed ideas.

pune Updated: Feb 19, 2018 23:38 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, Pune
(From left) A member of the platinum award-winning team Electrodes, former ISRO chairman K Radhakrishnan, RA Mashelkar and Ravi Pandit during the KPIT Sparkle 2018.(HT Photo)

KPIT, a global technology company specializing in IT consulting and product engineering, announced the winners of KPIT Sparkle 2018, a national design and development innovation contest for engineering and science students. A team from the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur, bagged the platinum award at KPIT Sparkle, an initiative by the company’s innovation council—chaired by Dr RA Mashelkar—which focuses on the promotion of innovation within and outside the organisation.

The finalists exhibited their projects at a grand public exhibition, hosted by the academic partner, Pimpri Chinchwad College of Engineering (PCCOE), Akurdi, on February 18 and were evaluated by international jurors, consisting of eminent industry experts, technologists, academicians and business leaders.

Four years ago, the company decided to promote innovation in an interesting way. Ravi Pandit, co-founder and group CEO, KPIT, said, “The best way to promote entrepreneurship and innovation is to throw challenges at the student community. The government does help with some funding, but I think it is when you set up communities with problems that need solving that throws up solutions,” he said.

Sparkle is an annual event that invites colleges from across the country to participate in a contest that has a theme. For 2018, KPIT Sparkle asked the students to think of solutions in transportation and energies technologies. The company received 12,000 registrations from more than 600 engineering and science colleges across India, including 28 premier institutes like IIT (Indian Institute of Technology) and NIT (National Institutes of Technology) in the pre-qualification stage and shortlisted 30 of the 1,500 plus teams for the finals based on the novelty, affordability, and commercial viability of their proposed ideas.

“Sparkle is setting new benchmarks in creativity and inventiveness every year. The ideas that we have been receiving from the participants bring tremendous potential in transforming the energy and transportation landscape of the country, which is aiming to significantly lower the carbon footprint and make cities smarter with cleaner, greener, and intelligent technologies,” he added.

Further, he said, “Through Sparkle, we will provide opportunities for budding innovators to access incubation centres to convert their ideas into viable products. KPIT will also look at incubating some of the promising ideas.”

The winners selected by a jury, headed by Padma Vibhushan, Dr RA Mashelkar, chairman Innovation Council KPIT; Dr Alberto Sangiovani, co founder Cadence Design and Synopsis Inc and professor at the University of California and Berkeley; Dr Kalus Bickle, CEO Audi; Dr Peter Tropschuh, VP Strategy and Sustainability, Audi; Dr Satish Ogale, professor at IISER, Pune; Dr Ashish Lele, chief scientists, NCL; Dr CS Kumar of IIT Kharagpur; Dr Rajesh Zele of IIT, Bombay; Dr Milind Rane, IIT Bombay; Dr Ravi Pandit and Dr Anup Sable CTO, KPIT.

The winners of KPIT Sparkle 2018 were announced at the end of the day. The winners were felicitated with cash prizes and medals in the august presence of Dr K Radhakrishnan, former chairman, Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) and Harkesh Mittal, adviser, member secretary, National Science and Technology Entrepreneurship Development Board (NSTEDB).


Team Electrodes from IIT, Kharagpur, won the platinum award (Rs.10,00,000) for developing a flexible and disposable battery by using bacteria from sewage water.

Team SmartGear from Sahyadri College of Engineering and Management, Mangalore, won the gold prize (Rs.5,00,000) for developing a smart helmet for motorcycles, which provides accident alerts along with details of the location to emergency contact lists saved in the app.

The silver prizes (cash prize of Rs 2,50,000/- each) were won by team Nanoknocks from Pune Vidyarthi Griha’s College of Engineering for developing a solution that solves the problem of massive oil spills and filtering the water up to drinkable level by using new material and by team Thermo from DY Patil College of Engineering and Pimpri Chinchwad College of Engineering, Pune, for developing a device that converts waste heat from kitchen stoves into electricity using thermoelectric modules (TEG).

Team PathPredictor from National Institute of Technology, Hamirpur, won the most popular award for developing an en-routing and accident prevention self-learning system. They were selected based on public voting from across the country. They won a cash prize of Rs.1 Lakh.

First Published: Feb 19, 2018 23:36 IST