Pune’s St Anne’s win fifth consecutive hockey tittle

St Anne’s School is also champions in the under-14 age group

pune Updated: Sep 16, 2017 16:23 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, Pune
St Anne’s player (right) in action versus St Joseph’s.(HT Photo)

St Anne’s School continued their domination over the inter-school hockey tournament as they won under-17 girls title in the District Sports Council and Education Board-organised tournament.

This is the fifth year St Anne’s School has won the title. They are also champions in the under-14 age group.

Played at the Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex in Balewadi, St Anne’s School defeated St Joseph’s School 2-1 in a closely fought encounter.

Lavanya Salunkhe converted Ritali Kamble’s pass in the 4th minute, to put St Anne’s in the lead. Five mintues later, Aparajit Sarkar equalised with help from Kimaya Natekar.

Later, in the 18th minute, St Anne’s again rushed to a 2-1 lead. It was Vaishnavi Pawar who found the back of the net. St Joseph girls tried their best but failed to find the equaliser.

Gullubai Muluk Irani Girls High School finished third by beating Anglo Urdu High School 1-0. Samruddhi Juzum was the lone scorer.

Hutchings, St Joseph move ahead in football

Hutchings School defeated St Thomas High School 4-0 to enter the quarterfinals of the under-17 boys inter-school football tournament at SSPMS ground. Nirav Solanki scored in the 5th minute and then Harshit Hemade’s header took Hutchings to a 2-0 lead. Aryan Tikone scored a brace in the second half, scoring in the 18th and 22nd minute.

In another match, Gurukul defeated Shamrao Kalmadi School, Aundh 3-0. Shardul Jeurkar, Shail Hudekar and Siddharth Kulkarni scored from the winning team. In the third match of the day, Shaikh Faizan and Nitin Nanasani played a key role by scoring a goal each for St Joseph School as they defeated Symbiosis Secondary School 2-0.

Krida Niketan start with a win

Khashaba Jadhav Krida Niketan team started their under-17 boys inter-school kabaddi campaign with a 51-16 win over New English School, Ramanbaug. Akash Kamble and Jay Ekambe were impressive from the winning team. In another match, Erin Nagarwala School defeated Erandwane School 27-6.

First Published: Sep 16, 2017 16:15 IST