AAP fourth list for Punjab: Capt Kanwaljit’s wife among 18 candidates | punjab | top | Hindustan Times
  • Thursday, Jul 19, 2018
  •   °C  
Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 19, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

AAP fourth list for Punjab: Capt Kanwaljit’s wife among 18 candidates

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Saturday evening released its fourth list of 18 candidates for the Punjab Vidhan Sabha elections due early next year. Releasing the list, AAP state convener Gurpreet Singh Waraich and Sangrur MP and chairman, election campaign committee, Bhagwant Mann said that after getting feedback from the volunteers of the segments, the party has selected “honest and hardworking” candidates.

punjab Updated: Nov 13, 2016 01:39 IST
AAP,Punjab polls,Aam Aadmi Party
AAP has fielded Sarabjit Kaur, 71, wife of former finance minister in the Akali government Capt Kanwaljit Singh, from Dera Bassi.(HT Photo)

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) released its fourth list of 18 candidates for the upcoming assembly elections on Saturday. With this, the party has so far declared candidates on 79 seats of the total 117.

Giving representation to women, the AAP fielded Sarabjit Kaur, 71, wife of former finance minister in the Akali government Capt Kanwaljit Singh, from Dera Bassi, the home seat of the family. Sarabjit and her daughter Manpreet Kaur Dolly had joined the AAP in August. Dolly had contested as an Independent from Dera Bassi in 2012 and managed to get around 10,000 votes.

The list also includes a host of young party volunteers. Jagjot Singh Dhillon, 28, a Class 12 pass, has been fielded from the Rajasansi. He had volunteered for Khalsa Aid Foundation for four years in the UK and is now working for it in Punjab.

Raman Kumar, 32, also a Class 12 pass, who has been working for the party since 2013, has been fielded from Chabbewal, while 32-year-old Jai Kishan Singh Rodi, a photographer and general secretary of the Taekwondo Association, Hoshiarpur, is the party’ pick from Garhshankar.

Deepak Bansal, 33, an MBA and research analyst with a US-based company, who is the treasurer of the party’s youth wing, is the party’s candidate from Bathinda while Dalbir Singh Tong, 33, a transporter, is AAP’s choice from Baba Bakala. Gurpreet Singh Gora, 37, a small-scale industrialist, who is an Independent councillor, has been given AAP ticket from Zira.

The most educated of AAP candidates is Principal Budhram, 59, from Budhlada. He has done masters in Punjabi, political science, economics and religion and is MEd. He also cleared the PCS and served as employment officer for some time. Amarjeet Singh Chahal, 62, a retired principal with a double masters (Punjabi and economics) and Bed, is party’s candidate from Gurdaspur.

The other women on the list is Balbir Kaur Phull, 50, wife of social activist ‘Hind Rattan’ Phull Kamaljit Singh. She will contest from Dasuya. She was awarded the Dr APJ Abdul Kalam Award for social service. Palwinder Kaur, 37, am engineering diploma holder and sarpanch of Haryau Khurd village, is party’s pick from Shutrana.

Arshad Dali, 45, a TV personality, who also acted in Hindi and Punjabi movies and remained councillor, is the AAP candidate from Malerkotla. Jeewan Sangowal, 52, a panchayat member of Sangowal village, will contest from Gill. Advocate Ramesh Grover, 40, a former president of the district Bar council, is party’s choice from Moga; Jagtar Singh Jagga, 42, a diploma holder in art and craft, from Raikot; Jasveer Singh Gill, 47, running a transport business and NRI, from Urmur; Anil Dutt Phalli, 59, a municipal councillor, from Khanna and Chandan Grewal, 46, an employee of Jalandhar municipal corporation, from Kartarpur..

Here’s the list

Constituency: Candidate

Gill: Jeewan Sanghwal, 52, former panchayat member, sector in-chareg of party’s SC/ST wing

Budhlada: Budhram ‘Principal’, 59, former academician

Moga: Ramesh Grover, 40, advocate, zone in-charge of party’s legal wing, and ex-president of Moga district bar council

Shutrana: Palwinder Kaur, 37, women wing sector in-charge,

Raikot: Jagtar Singh Jagga Hissowal, 42, identified by party as a social worker

Urmur: Jasveer Singh Gill, 47, NRI for 17 years, now party’s sector in-charge; is into transport business

Khanna: Anil Dutt Phalli, 59, councillor; wife councillor too

Rajasansi: Jagjot Singh Dhillon, 28, zone in-charge, farmer and labour wing ( Amritsar)

Baba Bakala: Dalbir Singh Tong, 33, zone in-charge, SC/ST wing; also a transporter

Bathinda-Urban: Deepak Bansal, 33, IT professional, zone in-charge

Garshankar: Jai KIshan Singh Rodi, 32, photographer; zone in-charge, youth wing

Zira: Gurpreet Singh Gora, 37, councillor; small-scale industrialist

Dera Bassi: Sarabjit Kaur, 71, wife of the late SAD leader and former finance minister Capt Kanwaljit Singh

Gurdaspur: Amarjeet Singh Chahal, 62, educationist

Dasuya: Balbir Kaur Phull, 50, businesswoman

Kartarpur: Chandan Grewal, 46, retired government employee

Chabbewal: Raman Kumar, 32, party says he’s a Dalit rights activist

Malerkotla: Arshad Dali, 45, actor; former councillor

Below are the earlier lists, click to access reports

List 1: 4 lawyers, three under-30, 1 woman in AAP’s mixed bag of 19 nominees for Punjab

Turncoats, teachers on AAP second Punjab list of 13

Khaira gets ticket; Kanwar Sandhu, former wrestler Kartar also on AAP 3rd list