Highlights: Cong’s Sunil Jakhar wins Gurdaspur Lok Sabha bypoll by over 1.9 lakh votes
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Highlights: Cong’s Sunil Jakhar wins Gurdaspur Lok Sabha bypoll by over 1.9 lakh votes

Congress candidate Sunil Jakhar won by a margin of 1,93,219 votes, defeating his nearest rival Swaran Singh Salaria of BJP.

punjab Updated: Oct 15, 2017 17:08 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
Gurdaspur counting,gurdaspur election,Gurdaspur bypoll
Congress candidate Sunil Jakhar in Gurdaspur on Sunday.(HT Photo)

The counting process for the Gurdaspur Lok Sabha bypoll seat, which was witnessing a three- cornered race among the BJP, the Congress and the AAP, has ended with Punjab congress chief Sunil Jakhar getting a thumping victory.

The Gurdaspur Lok Sabha seat has nine Assembly segments-- Bhoa, Pathankot, Gurdaspur, Dinanagar, Qadian, Fathegarh Churian, Dera Baba Nanak, Sujanpur and Batala.

Here are the highlights:

12: 45 pm: Sunil Jakhar wins by a margin of 1,93,219 votes.

12: 15 pm: After 13th round Congress gets 4,56,250 votes, BJP-2,74,090 and AAP-21,509.

11: 50 am: Amarinder Singh assures people of Gurdaspur of fulfilling every single promise made by Sunil Jakhar and said all developmental works will be fast-tracked.

11: 48 am: Congress heads for big win in Gurdaspur bypoll, leads by 1.7 lakh votes.

11: 45 am: Punjab chief minister congratulates Sunil Jakhar, tweets, “Congratulations to @sunilkjakhar ji for his impressive win in #Gurdaspur bypoll, it’s a victory for @INCPunjab policies & development agenda (sic)”

11: 35 am: Sunil Jakhar leading by 1,35,812 votes over his nearest rival BJP’s Swaran Salaria. Congress-3,23,860 BJP-1,88,048 AAP-18,421 after ninth round.

11: 32 am: This is a beautiful Diwali gift, packed with a red ribbon, for our would be party president Rahul Gandhi, says Navjot Singh Sidhu: ANI

11: 20 am: People of Gurdaspur have sent a strong message of their resentment to policies pursued by Narendra Modi led Centre, says Sunil Jakhar: ANI

11: 00 am: Congress now leads by over one lakh votes.

10: 42 am: Cong’s Sunil Jakhar now leads by 94,161 votes

10: 40 am: Congress candidate Sunil Jakhar calls it referendum on Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

10: 30 am: After the 5th round of counting, Congress takes a lead of 76,902 votes over nearest rival BJP’s Salaria

10: 20 am: No public gathering of any political party outside the counting centre in Gurdaspur.

An outside view of the place where counting for Gurdaspur bypoll is taking place. (HT Photo)

10: 00 am: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate, Maj Gen Suresh Khajuria (retd) tells Hindustan Times that democracy has been hijacked by political gunda elements. “Ruling party in Punjab has misused government machinery and used undemocratic means to ensure victory of Sunil Jakhar,” he said.

Also Read | AAP concedes defeat day before Gurdaspur verdict, knives out

10: 00 am: Jakhar extends lead, now is ahead by 56,643 votes in all the nine assembly segments of Gurdaspur.

9: 40 am: Jakhar leading by 25,598 votes over his nearest rival BJP’s Swaran Salaria.

8: 40 am:Punjab Congress chief Sunil Jakhar takes an early lead.

8: 00 am: The counting before the Gurdaspur bypoll ahs begun.

First Published: Oct 15, 2017 10:19 IST