Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Mohit Mayur Jayaprakash advances at Fenesta Open National Tennis Championship

Mohit Mayur Jayaprakash beat Kunal Anand 7-6 (9/7), 7-6 (6/4) to advance at the Fenesta Open National Tennis Championship in New Delhi on Wednesday.

tennis Updated: Oct 04, 2017 21:48 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Fenesta Open,Fenesta Open Tennis,National Tennis Championship
Mohit Mayur Jayaprakash advanced at the Fenesta Open National Tennis Championship with a win on Wednesday. (HT Photo )

Mohit Mayur Jayaprakash reserved his best for the tie-breaks as he outshone Kunal Anand 7-6 (9/7), 7-6 (6/4) to advance in the men’s singles of the Fenesta Open National Tennis Championship on Wednesday.

On a warm day, Mohit played solid tennis from the baseline to oust the third seed in a clinical manner.

Tie-breaks are a test of character and Mohit served as well as he needed to for a well-deserved win.

“It was a tough match. In the first set, I came back with a tie-break and in the second, I was down 2-5 but fought back and won 7-6. In my last match I had lost to him, but I am happy to have moved into the quarter-finals,” said an elated Mohit.

Second seed Bava Haddin also had to stay focused in the pre-quarterfinal against Jayesh Pungliya. Bava won 7-5, 6-4.

“I held my nerve and it was more about right decision-making because heat was getting the better of us,” said Bava.

Nitin Kumar Sinha continued his run as he upset eighth seed Faisal Qamar with a clinical 6-3, 6-2 win. Nitin played smoothly for a passage into the last eight.

Warhorse Nitten Kirtane showed at 43 he still has the competitive spirit. On Wednesday, he slammed the door on his opponent Siddhanth Banthia for a 6-2, 6-1 win.

In women’s singles, young Zeel Desai showed no mercy on Shreya Gulia, winning 6-2, 6-0.

Four-time national champion Prerna Bhambri was on song as she blanked Moulika P Ram 6-0, 6-0.

“I feel great. I guess I played amazingly well. I hope I can continue playing the same way through the week,” said Prerna, a former champion.

Bhuvana Kalva pulled off an upset when she outplayed Shweta Rana, the third seed, 6-2, 6-4. It was not Shweta’s day as she made too many unforced errors. On her part, Bhuvana grabbed her chances for a passage into the last-eight stage.


Men’s Singles

Bava Haadin [KL] (Seed 2) beat Jayesh Pungliya [MH] 7-5, 6-4; Mohit Mayur Jayaprakash [TN] upset Kunal Anand [DL] (Seed 3) 7-5; Nitin Kumar Sinha [WB] upset Faisal Qamar [RJ] (Seed 8) 6-3,6-2; Manish Sureshkumar [TN] bt Paramveer Bajwa [PB] 6-1,6-0; Suraj R Prabodh [KA] (Seed 1) bt Armaan Bhatia [MH] 6-3,6-1; Arjun Kadhe [MH] bt Hardeep Singh Sandhu [PB] 7-5,6-1; Dalwinder Singh [PB] (Seed 4) bt Naithaolin Calvin Golmie; Nitten Kirrtane [MH] (Seed 7) bt Siddhanth J. Banthia [MH] 6-2, 6-1

Womens Singles

Prinkle Singh bt Yubrani Barnerjee (Retd); Mahak Jain [MP] (Seed 5) bt Snehadevi S. Reddy [TN] 6-2, 6-2; Zeel Desai [GJ] (Seed 1) bt Shreya Gulia [HR] 6-2, 6-0; Bhuvana Kalva [TS] upset Shweta C. Rana [DL] (Seed 3) 6-2, 6-4; Tanisha Kashyap [AS] upset Nithya Raj Babu Raj [TN] (Seed 4) 6-4, 6-1; Prerna Bhambhri [DL] (Seed 6) bt Moulika P. Ram [AP] 6-0, 6-0; Samhitha Sai Chanmarthi [TN] (Seed 2) bt Soha S [KA] 6-3, 6-1; Shaikh Humera [TS] upset Sara Yadav [MP] (Seed 8)

Boys U 18 Singles

Siddhant J. Banthia (Seed 2) bt Naitholin Calvin Golmie 6-4, 6-4; Dhruv Sunish [MH] (Seed 3) bt Madhwin Kamath [GJ] (Seed 14) 6-3,6-1; Abhimanyu Vannemreddy [KA] (Seed 4) bt Shubham Malhotra [DL] 6-0,6-0; Dev V Javia [GJ] (Seed 10) bt Mritunjay Badola [UK] 6-3,6-0; Amit Beniwal [HR] bt Rythm Malhotra [DL] 6-4,7-5; Sacchitt Sharma [DL] (Seed 7) bt Krishan Hooda [HR] 6-2,6-3; Fardeen Qumar [RJ] bt Sanket Tomar [DL] 4-6, 6-1, 7-6(1); Nitin Sinha [WB] (Seed 1) bt Nikit M Reddy [AP] 6-4, 6-1

Girls U-18 Singles

Akanksha A Bhan [GJ] (Seed 1) bt Kritika Umesh Chhabra [MH] 6-2,6-2; Tanisha Kashyap [AS] (Seed 2)bt Muskan Gupta [DL] 6-0,6-4; Vaidehi Chaudhari [GJ] (Seed 3) bt Himaanshika [CH] 6-1,6-1; Shivani Sravya C [TS] (Seed 7) bt Bhakti Bharat Parwani [GJ] (Seed 12) 6-0,6-1; Sathwika Sama [TS] (Seed 13) upset Salsa Aher [MH] (Seed 4) 6-2,6-3; Shaikh Humera [TS] (Seed 6) bt Prinkle Singh [J&K] (Seed 10) 6-1,6-2; Shivani Manjanna [KA] (Seed 5) bt Chandrika Joshi [KA] 6-4,6-2; Prerna V Vichare [MH] bt Deddeepya Y Sai 6-2,6-2 [TS] (Seed 9)

First Published: Oct 04, 2017 21:48 IST