Sanjay Mitra is new secretary of road transport, highways

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, New Delhi
  • Updated: Dec 29, 2015 00:57 IST
West Bengal chief secretary Sanjay Mitra. (HT File Photo)

In a minor secretary-level reshuffle, the Centre on Monday appointed West Bengal chief secretary Sanjay Mitra as the road transport and highways secretary and Neeraj Kumar Gupta as disinvestment secretary.

Mitra, a 1982 batch officer, had earlier had a seven-year stint in the Manmohan Singh-led PMO from 2004. The appointments committee of the Cabinet headed by PM Narendra Modi also approved the appointment of Mitra’s batchmate, Rashmi Verma who was special secretary in the revenue department, as textiles secretary.

An UP cadre officer, Neeraj Kumar Gupta, has also been appointed as disinvestment secretary, replacing Aradhana Johri who has been named chairperson of the National Authority for Chemical weapons Convention.

Amitabh Kant, secretary of the industrial policy and promotion department that is driving Make in India initiative, will hold additional charge as chief executive officer, Niti Aayog.

also read

Traditional headgear with cross gifted to VIPs angers Arunachal tribe
Show comments