Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 19, 2018-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

AAP names 11 candidates in first list for Gujarat polls

AAP is the first party in the state to come out with a list of candidates for the December assembly election.

assembly elections Updated: Oct 21, 2017 23:03 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, Ahmedabad
Aam Aadmi Party,Gujarat Election,Gujarat Election 2017
Delhi Chief Minister and National convener of the Aam Aadmi Party Arvind Kejriwal(HT File Photo)

The first list of candidates of the Aam Aadmi Party announced on Saturday includes a former government official, a sarpanch, a woman, a Dalit and a Muslim. Patidars, however, dominate the list of 11 candidates with five belonging to the influential community.

AAP is the first party in the state to come out with a list of candidates for the December assembly election, dates of which are expected soon. The AAP list came on a day when the Congress called to form anti-BJP front by inviting young leaders like Hardik Patel, Alpesh Thakor and Jignesh Mewani to join it.

The AAP has fielded retired deputy revenue collector M D Manjaria from Kshatriya-dominated Lathi constituency in Amreli district. Savasi village sarpanch Rajendra Patel’s name has been declared for Padra in Vadodara.

For Pardi in Valsad, which has a huge population of migrants, the party has chosen Rajiv Pandey, an academician.

For Patidar-dominated Unjha constituency in the heart of north Gujarat, which is epicentre of the Patidar agitation for OBC quota, the AAP has picked Ramesh Patel. He is former president and MD of Unjha Nagrik Sahkari Bank.

Hanif Jamadar has been selected for Karjan constituency near Vadodara city. He is a farmer as well as into construction business.

For SC reserved Danilimda, it has announced name of former policeman JJ Mewada. He served in the department for 33 years and retired as deputy superintendent of police.

Nimisha Khut, a Patidar, has been the choice of AAP for Gondal.

First List

Candidate Constituency

Anil Verma Bapunagar

Ramesh Patel Unjha

Rajesh Bhut Rajkot West

J J Mewada Danilimda

Nimisha Khunt Gondal

M D Manajaria Lathi

Arjun Rathva Chhota Udepur

Rajendra Patel Padra

Hanif Jamadar Karjan

Rajiv Pandey Pardi

Ram Dhaduk Kamrej

First Published: Oct 21, 2017 23:03 IST