Modi masterstroke: PM’s campaign hit rate a breezy 86% in UP innings

There was a Modi wave in this election. In Uttar Pradesh, Modi addressed 23 rallies and has a couple of road shows covering 118 out of total 403 assembly seats. And the BJP won 99 of them ! That is a strike rate of 84%

assembly elections Updated: Mar 12, 2017 21:55 IST
Kumar Uttam
Kumar Uttam
New Delhi, Hindustan Times
UP results,Punjab results,Goa results
The BJP rode on Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s shoulders to power in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand on Saturday.(PTI)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) celebrated Holi and Diwali both, on Saturday. The BJP rode on his shoulders to power in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand. The scale of BJP’s victory defied almost every poll prediction and surpassed even the party’s own expectations.

There was a Modi wave in this election. Some figures corroborate that. In Uttar Pradesh, Modi addressed 23 rallies and held two roadshows covering 118 of a total of 403 assembly seats. And the BJP won 99 of them. The Apna Dal, an ally of the BJP, also won three of these seats. That’s a total strike rate of 86.4%.

Such strong was the Move wave it blew away every BJP opponent. The Samajwadi Party of Akhilesh Yadav could win just 11 of these 118 seats and the Bahujan Samaj Party of Mayawati just four. The Congress drew a nil.

At the start of the election, the BJP had planned just one rally of the prime minister in each of the seven rounds. As election got nearer, it was scaled up to two rallies of the PM for every phase. The final tally was 23 for seven phases, averaging more than three for each of the rounds.

Modi was criticised for spending three days in Varanasi, his parliamentary constituency, and holding two road shows.

“Why should not be spent time in his area? What is wrong in it?” BJP chief Amit Shah said. Shah revealed last evening that the prime ministers had told BJP poll managers to draw such a schedule for him in Varanasi by which he gets maximum time to connect with his voters. BJP won all five assembly seats in the parliamentary constituency of the Prime Minister.

Modi also held four rallies in Uttarakhand covering 25 out of total 70 assembly segments. The BJP won 20 of them and other five went to the Congress. It wrested a total of 57 seats; the best-ever performance by any political party in the hill state.

The PM had two rallies in Punjab, covering 10 seats and BJP’s ally, Shiromani Akali Dal, won 4 of them. The AAP of Arvind Kejriwal won 1 and the Congress 5.

The BJP won Panaji seat in Goa where the PM has a rally. It won 13 out of 26 seats that the PM covered through his rally in Manipur.

First Published: Mar 12, 2017 10:38 IST