Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 21, 2018-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Assembly elections 2017: In Goa, winners sneak home with thin margins

With an electorate of just 1.12 million, the assembly elections in Goa for the 40-member assembly were tightly fought with many candidates winning by thin margins.

assembly elections Updated: Mar 12, 2017 13:01 IST
Debasish Panigrahi
Debasish Panigrahi
Hindustan Times, Panaji
Goa assembly elections,Tight contest,Thin winning margins
Supporters of various parties outside a counting center in Panaji on Saturday. (HT Photo)

The keenly contested 2017 assembly election in Goa saw many close finishes. Given the small demographic size of the 40 constituencies in the state with a total population of a little more than 1.5 million (1.12 million voters), outcomes have always been a close call.

This time, the presence of the Aam Admi Party (AAP), many rebel and independent candidates in the fray made things even closer. Baring Calangute constituency where the fight was triangular, the rest 39 constituencies witnessed multi-corner fights with Corfalim constituency having the maximum of 12 candidates in the fray.

Here are some of the close finishes:

Cuncolim: Congress candidate Clefasio Dias defeated independent candidate and former minister Joaquin Alemao by 33 votes. AAP’s chief ministerial candidate Elvis Gomes came fourth.

Mormugao: Sitting BJP MLA and power minister in the Laxmikant Parsekar government, Milind Naik defeated Congress candidate Sankalp Amonkar by just 14 votes.

Cortalim: BJP’s lone woman candidate Alima Saldanha defeated independent candidate Anthony Vas by a margin of 518 votes.

Bicholim: BJP candidate Rajesh Patnekar defeated Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) candidate Naresh Sawal by a margin of 666 votes.

Tivim: Congress candidate Nilkanth Halarnkar defeated sitting BJP MLA Kiran Kandolkar by 795 votes.

St Cruz: Antonio Fernandes of the Congress defeated BJP candidate Hemant Golatkar by a margin of 642 votes.

First Published: Mar 12, 2017 12:02 IST