Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 15, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

MP: Big political names face major defeat in civic polls

Even as ruling BJP party made a virtual clean sweep in local body elections in eight districts of Malwa-Nimad region in Madhya Pradesh, the big wigs of state politics suffered defeats in their own areas.

bhopal Updated: Dec 05, 2014 22:52 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

Even as ruling BJP party made a virtual clean sweep in local body elections in eight districts of Malwa-Nimad region, the big wigs of state politics — BJP state president Nandkumar Singh Chouhan, Congress chief Arun Yadav and Congress Rajya Sabha MP Vijay Laxmi Sadho — suffered defeats in their own areas.

BJP candidate from Shahpura municipal council suffered defeat from Congress candidate Shobhabai Lande’s, a native place of state BJP president Chouhan while BJP returned the favour at Kasravad municipal council, the native place of Congress president Yadav.


In district, elections were held at Badnagar and Khachrod municipality along with Makdon and Taran municipal council.

At Badnagar, amidst high drama, BJP candidate Shobhawat emerged winner by a margin of 114 votes. Congress party workers started celebrating party’s nominee Alaknanda Morwal’s victory even before officials declared her winner officially.

Following this, BJP workers raised protest over celebration and demanded re-counting. The administration decided to go for re-counting and after this.

In Khachrod municipality election, BJP candidate Kamlesh Sharma who got 9,277 votes captured president post with 1,022 vote victory over Sunita Sharma of Congress. In Makdon and Tarana municipal council elections, Congress got some good news as their candidate emerged victorious at both the municipal councils.


At Khargone district elections were held for Barwah and Sanawad municipality along with Karahi and Kasrawad municipal council.

At Barwah municipality elections, Congress president post candidate Priti Rai registered 642 vote victory over her BJP rival Mamta Pandey, similarly at Sanawad, Narendra Sharma of Congress registered thumping 5,345 victory over BJP candidate Ramcharan Kushwah.


At Dewas elections were held for Dewas municipal corporation along with Khantegaon municipal council, Bagli council and Sonkutch council. Prem Kumar of BJP won mayoral election by thumping margin of 12,932 votes.

In municipal council elections held at Sonkutch, Bagli and Khategaon, independent candidate and BJP candidates shared honour, while Congress candidates stood at second and third place.

At Sonkutch, former Congress MLA and rebel candidate, Rajveer Singh Baghel posted victory against BJP and Congress candidate. At Khategaon and Bagli municipal council, BJP candidate Nilesh Joshi and Amol Rathore won council president post respectively.


Burhanpur spring surprises for BJP, Congress. The BJP and Congress shared the seats at Burhanpur. At Burhanpur municipal corporation, Anil Bhonsale of BJP emerged winner with margin of 4066 votes against his Congress candidate Mohammed Ismile Ansari.

At Shahpura municipal council, Congress candidate Shobhabai Lande’s victory over BJP candidates surprise many political pundits as BJP fails to achieve victory from where its state president Nandkumar Singh Chouhan’s coming from. Lande who got 6187 votes won president post by margin of 1,077 votes as Subhadra Mahajan of BJP got 5,110 votes.


It was clean sweep for BJP at Khandwa district as party candidates emerged winners at both mayoral and municipal council president posts in the district.

Contesting for mayoral post from Khandwa municipality, Subhash Kothari of BJP who got 47,816 votes, emerged victorious by margin of 3,415 votes. Kothari’s nearest rival Ajay Ojha of Congress got 44,401 votes.

In Mundi and Pandhana municipal council elections, Santosh Rathore and Parmachand Kushwah, both from BJP captured president post with thumping majority.


Dr Sunita Yarde of BJP was elected new mayor of Ratlam municipal corporation. Dr Yarde who got total 76,345 votes registered victory by margin of 24,011 votes against her nearest candidate Dave Premlata Sanjay of Congress. In Namli municipal council elections, Narendra Sonawa of BJP beat Congress’s Rajesh Bharawa by margin of just 58 votes. In Piploda municipal council elections, BJP’s Shyam Bihari Patel emerged victorious by margin of 1,145 votes


In Shajapur, municipal council elections held at Maksi, Polaykala and Akodiya municipal council, BJP won two seats, while one president post went to Congress. At Polaykala and Akodiya municipal council, Mamta Choudhary and Maya Mandloi of BJP emerged victorious.

For Congress, Maksi brought some good news as party candidate Rajendra Singh Ramchandra Patel "Gudu" emerged victorious by a margin of 2606 votes.

First Published: Dec 05, 2014 22:17 IST