Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 25, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Meena Kandasamy’s When I Hit You in the 2018 Dylan Thomas Prize longlist

The longlist of 12 books for 2018 comprises eight novels, two short story collections and two books of poetry.

books Updated: Feb 02, 2018 17:57 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Meena Kandasamy,Meena Kandasamy When I Hit You,2018 Dylan Thomas Prize
Meena Kandasamy’s 2017 novel When I Hit You is a chronicle of an abusive marriage.

The International Dylan Thomas Prize 2018 has announced its longlist of 12 titles. Named after Swansea-born writer, Dylan Thomas, the £30,000 prize was started in 2006 in partnership with Swansea University, UK. It is awarded for a literary work of outstanding merit in the English language by an author aged 39 or under.

Last year, Australian writer Fiona McFarlane won the prize for her short story collection The High Places.

The longlist of 12 books for 2018 comprises: eight novels, two short story collections, and two volumes of poetry. Here is the longlist:

Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀, Stay With Me (Canongate Books)

Kayo Chingonyi, Kumukanda (Vintage - Chatto & Windus)

Meena Kandasamy, When I Hit You (Atlantic Books)

Lisa McInerney, The Blood Miracles (John Murray)

Carmen Maria Machado, Her Body and Other Parties (Graywolf Press)

Fiona Mozley, Elmet (JM Originals)

Gwendoline Riley, First Love (Granta)

Sally Rooney, Conversations With Friends (Faber & Faber)

Emily Ruskovich, Idaho (Vintage - Chatto & Windus)

Gabriel Tallent, My Absolute Darling (Riverhead Books)

Eley Williams, Attrib. and Other Stories (Influx Press)

James Womack, On Trust: A Book of Lies (Carcanet Press)

The shortlist comprising six books will be announced at the end of March. The winner will be revealed on May 10, in the run up to International Dylan Thomas Day on 14 May.

This year’s judging panel features professor Dai Smith CBE, Emeritus Raymond Williams Research Chair in the Cultural History of Wales at Swansea University, novelist and playwright Rachel Trezise, poet-translator professor Kurt Heinzelman, playwright and author Paul McVeigh, and writer, publisher and festival director, Namita Gokhale.

Follow @htlifeandstyle for more

First Published: Feb 02, 2018 17:53 IST