Randeep Surjewala is 'best' MLA
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 17, 2019-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Randeep Surjewala is 'best' MLA

Congress MLA from Kaithal, Randeep Singh Surjewala, has been selected for the Best Legislator award for 2012-13.

chandigarh Updated: Apr 03, 2013 21:29 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

Congress MLA from Kaithal, Randeep Singh Surjewala, has been selected for the Best Legislator award for 2012-13.

Briefing newspersons, Haryana Vidhan Sabha Speaker Kuldeep Sharma on Wednesday said that the award has been constituted for the first time in the state assembly under the Haryana Best Legislator Award Rules, 2012. It carries Rs 1 lakh cash, a trophy and a certificate. The award would be conferred on Surjewala at a function to be organised shortly.

Sharma said in all nine nominations were received for the award, which included three INLD MLAs, including Om Parkash Chautala, Ram Pal Majra, and Bahadur Singh, while five Congress MLAs in contention were Sampat Singh, BB Batra, Aftab Ahmed, Geeta Bhukkal, Ram Kishan Gujjar and Randeep Surjewala. The Speaker said besides Parliament, 19 states in the country confer such awards on legislators.

Meanwhile, Surjewala, who is also the parliamentary affairs minister, announced to give the award money to meritorious universities students in state.

“The Award will go a long way in strengthening parliamentary democracy and best practices. I have also requested the Speaker to send Rs 1 lakh award money to five government universities in Haryana. The vice-chancellor will confer Rs 10,000 per student to two deserving students of each university,” he said.

Not a new practice in the country
Though the Best Legislator award was conferred on a legislator for the first time in state, there are 19 other states in the country besides the Indian Parliament which confers such award on legislators. So far a total of 19 ministers in the Union Cabinet have been conferred with the Best Parliamentarian award. For 2012-13, the Best Parliamentarian award was given to Union minister P Chidambaram.

How it is decided/ Decisive factors
* MLA's attendance in the House
* Legislator's contribution in carrying out development works for his constituency within stipulated time
* Awareness, fluency and proficiency of language, wisdom in several issues raised by an MLA
* How observant an MLA has been in following the rules and procedures
* Maintaining dignity and decorum of the House
* His/her contribution in various House committees
* Experience

Why Surjewala
Congress MLA from Kaithal, Randeep Singh Surjewala, has been elected as an MLA thrice (1996, 2005 and 2009) and has served with various committees of the legislative assembly during 1996-2000. He was Congress chief whip in 1997-98. As Parliamentary Affairs Minister since 2005, he has aptly represented government's stand in the House with his eloquence and articulation. Fluent in Hindi, English and Punjabi, Surjewala who is also a lawyer has good grasp on a wide range of issues and is well conversant with rules, procedures and parliamentary practices.

Surjewala's selection disappointing: Arora
Chandigarh: Terming the process to select the best legislator by a Haryana assembly committee as arbitrary, the Indian National Lok Dal state president Ashok Arora on Wednesday said that the process was formulated to award the favourite of the government. Arora is a member of the committee constituted to select the best legislator. Interacting with newspersons, Arora alleged that since the ruling party was in majority in the selection committee, it could adjudge its own favourite MLA for the best legislator award and ignore merits of MLAs from the Opposition.

First Published: Apr 03, 2013 21:26 IST