Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 25, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BCCI recommends Jadeja, Shami, Bumrah and Poonam for Arjuna Award

Indian seamers Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and women’s team leg-spinner Poonam Yadav were recommended by BCCI for the Arjuna Award 2019.

cricket Updated: Apr 27, 2019 14:14 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
BCCI,Jasprit Bumrah,Mohammed Shami
India's Mohammed Shami, left, speaks with Jasprit Bumrah during play.(AP)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Saturday recommended four Indian cricketers - Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja and Poonam Yadav - for the Arjuna Award 2019.

Both Shami and Bumrah have been regular members of the Indian Test side for the last 18 months or so. Bumrah in fact is currently the No. 1 ranked bowler in the ICC ODI Rankings. Shami and Bumrah were also instrumental in India’s first ever Test series win in Australia earlier this year.

All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja is the most experienced among the four nominated cricketers. He has represented India in 41 Tests, 151 ODIs and 40 T20Is.

READ: IPL 2019: How SRH, KXIP, KKR, RR can still qualify for playoffs

Leg-spinner Poonam Yadav is the only female cricketer in the list recommended by BCCI. Yadav has been leading India’s spin bowling attack in the limited overs format for a long time. She has played 41 ODIs and 54 T20Is for India.

The prestigious Arjuna Award is given by Ministry of Youth Affairs of the Government of India to recognize outstanding achievement in sports. Started in 1961, the cash reward of Arjuna Award carries INR 5,00,000.

First Published: Apr 27, 2019 14:09 IST