Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 11, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BCCI to reward Rs 50 lakh to each India player for Women’s World Cup performance

The Board of Control for Cricket in India will give every member of the India women’s cricket team and the support staff Rs 50 lakh each for their outstanding performance in the ICC Women’s World Cup.

cricket Updated: Jul 22, 2017 18:01 IST
Asian News International
Asian News International
Asian News International
India women's national cricket team,ICC Women's World Cup,Mithali Raj
Members of the India women’s national cricket team are set for a financial windfall in the aftermath of the ICC Women’s World Cup. (AP)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a cash reward of Rs 50 lakh to each player of the Indian women’s cricket team for their tremendous performance in the ongoing Women’s World Cup 2017.

The board also declared that the support staff will be given cash reward of Rs.25 lakh each.

READ | India vs England, Women’s Cricket World Cup 2017 final: Where to get live streaming

Earlier, the Mithali Raj-led side booked their place in the finals of the 50-over pinnacle event for the second time with a dramatic 36-run victory over the defending champions and six-time winner Australia at Derby on Thursday.

All-rounder Harmanpreet Kaur smashed 20 fours and seven sixes in her unbeaten knock of 171 runs as India posted a daunting score of 281/4 in 42 overs.

READ | Watch: Mithali Raj shows off her dance moves during semi-final vs Australia

Nineteen-year-old spinner Deepti Sharma, pacers Jhulan Goswami and Shikha Pandey then led the spirited show on the field before the champions were bundled out for 245 in 40.1 overs.

Sharma was the pick of the Indian bowlers with three wickets while Goswami and Pandey both picked two wickets each.

READ | Avoid bowling spin to Harmanpreet Kaur, Nasser Hussain advises England

India will now aim to clinch their maiden Women’s World Cup title when they take on hosts England at The Lord’s on Sunday.

First Published: Jul 22, 2017 17:44 IST