Before run-in with Dhoni, Rohit had warned Mustafizur in 5th over
The video went viral on Facebook as many Indian fans shared it on their walls claiming that MS Dhoni shoved the bowler as it was a repeat offence. They defended their captain and critisised ICC's decision on social media.Updated: Jun 20, 2015 13:47 IST
Social media was abuzz on Saturday with a video which showed Bangladesh bowler Mustafizur Rahman getting in the way of Rohit Sharma early in the innings at the end of the fifth over. Sharma can be seen wagging his finger at Rahman after the delivery, warning him not to get in his way.
The video went viral on Facebook as many Indian fans shared it on their walls claiming that MS Dhoni shoved the bowler as it was a repeat offence. They defended their captain and critisised ICC's decision on social media.
Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Bangladesh fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman were fined on Friday for breaching ICC's Code of Conduct. The two were involved in a physical contact during the match. Dhoni was fined 75% of his match fee, while Mustafizur was docked half of his fee.
"Bangladesh fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman and India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni have been fined 50 and 75% of their match fees respectively after being found guilty of breaching the ICC Code of Conduct during the first ODI in Mirpur on Thursday," the ICC said in a statement.
The two players were found to have breached Article 2.2.4 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to "inappropriate and deliberate physical contact between players in the course of play during an International Match".
Dhoni and debutante left-armer Mustafizur collided in the 25th over as India's skipper was running to the danger end on a quick single.
The impact jarred the bowler and drew a quick rebuke from Dhoni before umpires quickly intervened to ensure things remained cool on the field.
Cricket commentator Sanjay Manjrekar felt that Dhoni was wrongly fined. He tweeted, "Respectfully disagree with match referee's decision. Dhoni wrongly fined. Twice the same bowler had come in the way of batsmen running."
Asked if the debutante bowler getting in the batsman's way was a distraction, Raina said, "It would have been disturbing had one of our batsmen got run-out because of that. He collided with Rohit Sharma and then MS Dhoni."
"Anyone could have been seriously hurt. He has to learn to stay away from the pitch when the batsmen are running. The umpires need to have a chat with him about it. If he doesn't change this habit, it will be very difficult for him," he added.
However, explaining his decision, match referee Andy Pycroft said "In the hearing, Dhoni defended himself on the basis that the bowler was on the wrong line and realising that he couldn't avoid the collision, he used his hand and arm to push him away as he went through to 'minimise the impact'."
"However, my assessment was that Dhoni deliberately pushed and shouldered Mustafizur, which was inappropriate. Even if there was a narrow gap between the runner (Suresh Raina) and the bowler, an experienced Dhoni should have tried to avoid the collision as cricket is a non-contact sport and the players are expected to avoid physical contact at all times. On this basis, I fined Dhoni 75% of his match fee."
Having initially pleaded not guilty to the offence, upon being presented with the evidence during the hearing and upon questioning, Mustafizur admitted his guilt and accepted the proposed sanction.
(With inputs from PTI and IANS)
First Published: Jun 19, 2015 22:07 IST