IPL 2019 Final: Anil Kumble picks his best XI for the season, big name misses out

Anil Kumble has named his best XI for IPL 2019 based on the performances till group stages.
File image of Anil Kumble(Getty Images)
File image of Anil Kumble(Getty Images)
Updated on May 12, 2019 08:26 AM IST
Copy Link
Hindustan Times, New Delhi | By

Former India leg-spinner Anil Kumble picked his IPL XI ahead of the big final between Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians at Hyderabad on Sunday. Kumble, surprisingly left out RCB captain Virat Kohli from his IPL XI and instead went in with Delhi Capitals leader Shreyas Iyer.

“Iyer is young and has done really well. He has batted in difficult conditions. The Delhi pitch hasn’t been great but he’s led from the front,” said Kumble in a video for CricketNext.

Iyer has scored 463 runs in 16 matches at a strike rate of 119.94.

Kumble’s side has been picked only on the basis of performances till the group stage of IPL.

The openers in Kumble’s team are David Warner and KL Rahul.

“Warner has been instrumental behind SRH securing (playoff) qualification. He has been destructive at the top along with Jonny Bairstow… Was very tempted to keep Bairstow but because of the balance of the side I couldn’t pick him,” Kumble said.

Warner is still the leading run-scorer of IPL with 692 runs despite leaving for Australia’s World Cup camp after playing just 12 matches for SRH. He is followed by KL Rahul, who has 521 runs to his name in 14 matches.

Kumble opted for Rishabh Pant in the middle order. He picked MS Dhoni as the skipper and wicket-keeper of his side. Dhoni has returned as the highest run-scorer for CSK this season and has led the Yellow Brigade to a record 8th IPL final.

The all-rounders in his side are Andre Russell and Hardik Pandya. Both Pandya and Russell have won matches single handedly for Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders respectively. Russell has scored 510 runs at a staggering strike rate of 204.81. Pandya is not far behind, scoring at a strike rate of 193.

“Russell and Pandya have redefined how T20 cricket is going to be played,” Kumble added.

The two wrist spinners in Kumble’s side are Shreyas Gopal and Imran Tahir. Purple cap holder Kagiso Rabada (25 wickets) and India’s Jasprit Bumrah complete his fast bowling department.

Anil Kumble’s best XI of IPL 2019: David Warner, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni (wk & c), Hardik Pandya, Andre Russell, Shreyas Gopal, Imran Tahir, Kagiso Rabada, Jasprit Bumrah.

Close Story
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Monday, January 24, 2022