Mithali Raj named skipper of ICC women’s cricket World Cup XI
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 21, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Mithali Raj named skipper of ICC women’s cricket World Cup XI

India, who narrowly lost the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup final to England at Lord’s, have three players in the tournament eleven announced on Monday, with Mithali Raj being named the skipper of the team

cricket Updated: Jul 24, 2017 19:50 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
ICC Women's World Cup,Women's World Cup 2017,Mithali Raj
India captain Mithali Raj gestures to her teammates during the ICC Women's World Cup 2017 final match against England at Lord's in London on Sunday.(AP)

Mithali Raj, whose inspired leadership helped India reach the final of the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup, has been named skipper of the tournament XI announced on Monday.

The India skipper led from the front, hitting a century and two half-centuries, with the high point of her leadership being the 36-run victory over six-time champions Australia in the semifinals.

India lost to England in the final at Lord’s, a batting collapse resulting in a nine-run defeat in the tense match.

All-rounder Harmanpreet Kaur and Deepti Sharma are the other Indians in the eleven, which has five players from the victorious England team. Harmanpreet was the biggest impact player for India, smashing an unbeaten 171 off 115-balls to upstage Australia in the semis.

READ | Mithali Raj’s Indian cricket team to be felicitated by BCCI for World Cup show

There are four members of the England women’s team in the Women’s World Cup XI, including Tamsin Beaumont, who was declared Player of the Tournament, and seamer Anya Shrubsole, who captured six wickets in the final to shatter Indian hopes of claiming a maiden title.

South Africa, who lost to England in the semifinal, also have three members in the line-up while six-time champions Australia find only one member in the line-up – all-rounder Ellyse Perry.

The team was chosen by a selection panel of Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager – Cricket, and chairman, event technical committee), former West Indies fast bowler Ian Bishop, former England women’s team captain Charlotte Edwards, former Australia all-rounder Lisa Sthalekar and ex-India player turned journalist Snehal Pradhan.

READ | Anya Shrubsole: Bowling star who gave England the Women’s Cricket World Cup

Women’s World Cup XI (with performance):

Tamsin Beaumont (Player of the Tournament) (England) – 410 runs

Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa) – 324 runs

Mithali Raj (captain) (India) – 409 runs

Ellyse Perry (Australia) – 404 runs and nine wickets

Sarah Taylor (wk) (England) – 396 runs, four catches and two stumpings

Harmanpreet Kaur (India) – 359 runs and five wickets

Deepti Sharma (India) – 216 runs and 12 wickets

Marizanne Kapp (South Africa) – 13 wickets

Dane van Niekerk (South Africa) – 99 runs and 15 wickets

Anya Shrubsole (England) – 12 wickets

Alex Hartley (England) – 10 wickets

12th: Natalie Sciver (England) – 369 runs and seven wickets

First Published: Jul 24, 2017 18:28 IST