Ranji Trophy: Chasing 94 for win, Suresh Raina’s Uttar Pradesh all out for 72
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 24, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Ranji Trophy: Chasing 94 for win, Suresh Raina’s Uttar Pradesh all out for 72

Uttar Pradesh suffered a shocking loss to Railways in their opening Ranji Trophy encounter in Group A as they were bowled out for 72 in pursuit of 94 while Saurashtra registered an innings win over Haryana. Tamil Nadu fought back thanks to Abhinav Mukund while Punjab frustrated Himachal Pradesh.

cricket Updated: Oct 08, 2017 22:29 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Ranji Trophy,Uttar Pradesh,Suresh Raina
Uttar Pradesh suffered a shocking loss to Railways in their Ranji Trophy match as they were bowled out for 72 in pursuit of 94.(HT Photo)

Uttar Pradesh lost to arch rivals Railways by 21 runs in what was one of the shocking results on the penultimate day of the four-day Group A Ranji Trophy encounter at the Ekana stadium in Lucknow on Sunday.

Chasing just 94 to win on a perfect batting pitch of the Ekana International cricket stadium Uttar Pradesh collapsed for paltry 72 in 26 overs in their second innings, allowing a spirited Railways fetch full six points from the first encounter of the season.

Suresh Raina-led Uttar Pradesh, who had dominated the proceedings for almost two-n-half day before succumbing to a responsible bowling attack from Railways on Sunday. After losing opener Shivam Chaudhary on duck in the very second over, Uttar Pradesh never looked in repairing mode and kept losing wickets on regular intervals at both ends.

Former UP spinner Avinash, who now plays for Railways crafted team’s victory along with seamers Anureet Singh and Deepak Bansal. By pitching his deliveries on right spots, Avinash left UP batsman dancing to his tunes.

Brief scores: Railways: 182 & 161 all out (Arindam Ghosh 57; Ankit Rajpoot 4/34) defeated Uttar Pradesh: 250 & 72 all out (Avinash Yadav 4/26, Anureet Singh 3/25) by 21 runs.

Delhi close in on win in Group A

Delhi looked firmly in sight of an innings victory after debutant Anuj Rawat’s 71 as the hosts reached a commendable 435 in their first innings on third day of the Ranji Trophy Group A encounter.

After taking a sizeable 177-run first innings lead, Delhi left Assam in tatters at 60 for 3 in their second essay with another 117 runs required to avoid innings defeat.

Brief scores: Assam: 258 and 60 for 3 (Navdeep Saini 2/13) against Delhi 435 (Gautam Gambhir 137, Nitish Rana 110, Anuj Rawat 71, Mannan Sharma 69; Abu Nechim Ahmed 7/68).

Abhinav Mukund boosts Tamil Nadu in Group C

Tamil Nadu captain Abhinav Mukund fought back with a resolute half-century in the second innings after a century by B Sumanth gave Andhra Pradesh an important

133-run lead on the third day of the Ranji Trophy Group “C” match at the MA Chiadambaram stadium.

Tamil Nadu was 112 for 2 in the second innings with Mukund batting on 52 in respone to Andhra’s first innings total of 309. They had an injury scare when Test opener Murali Vijay retired hurt when on 13 after appearing to have rolled his ankle.

Brief scores: Tamil Nadu 176 all out and 112 for 2 in 54 overs (Abhinav Mukund 54*) vs Andhra Pradesh 309 all out in 123.4 overs (B Sumanth 109, R Ashwin 4 for 71)

Punjab frustrate Himachal Pradesh in Group D

Wicket-keeper Abhishek Gupta struck an unbeaten century on debut as Punjab reached 484 for six in reply to Himachal Pradesh’s mammoth 729 for eight declared on the third day of a Group D Ranji Trophy in Dharamsala.

Gupta made a quickfire 129 not out off 116 balls with the help of 16 boundaries and four sixes to held the fort for Punjab in the company of his name sake and another debutant Abhishek Sharma (81 not out).

Himachal Pradesh will go into day four needing four more wickets to secure a first-innings lead but for that to happen the home team bowlers will have to break the 210-run seventh-wicket partnership between Gupta and Sharma.

Brief scores: Himachal Pradesh 729/8 dec (Prashant Chopra 338, Paras Dogra 99; Sandeep Sharma 4/149) vs Punjab 484/6 (Abhishek Gupta 129 not out; Gurvinder Singh 5/118)

Saurashtra thump Haryana in Group B

Saurashtra seamers Jaydev Unadkat, Shaurya Sanandia and Chirag Jani shared seven wickets among them to bundle out Haryana for 140 in their second innings and help the team post an innings and 31-run win on the third day of their Group B Ranji Trophy match in Lahli, Rohtak. Unadkat, Sanandia and Jani shone for Saurashtra on the traditionally seamer-friendly conditions at the C Bansi Lal stadium.

Brief scores: Saurashtra: 278 defeated 107 & 140 all out (Chaitanya Bishnoi 56; Jaydev Unadkat 3/55, Shaurya Sanandia 2/18, Chirag Jani 2/12).

Combined Ranji Trophy results

Group A:

Delhi 435 all out in 135.3 overs (G Gambhir 137, N Rana 110, Manan Sharma 69; A N Ahmed 7/68) v Assam 60/3 in 31 overs (SA Roy 28*, Tarjinder Singh 8*)

Uttar Pradesh 250 & 72 all out in 26 overs v Railways 182 & 161 all out in 63.3 overs. Railways won by 21 runs. Points: Railways 6, UP 0.

Group B:

Rajasthan 330 all out in 115.2 overs (AV Gautam 51, R Bist 113, AL Menaria 69; M Mudhasir 5/81, Parvez Rasool 3/50) v J&K 432/6 in 152 overs (AO Bandy 102, SP Khajuria 53, Pranav Gupta 51, ID Singh 79, Parvez Rasool 97)

Saurashtra 278 all out in 90.3 overs v Haryana 107 & 140 (C Bishnoi 56; J Unadkat 3/55), Saurashtra won by innings & 31 runs. Pts: Saurashtra 7, Haryana 0

Kerala 259 & 34/1 in 5 overs v Jharkand 202 & 89 all out in 41.3 overs. Kerala won by 9 wkts. Points: Kerala 6, Jharkhand 0

Group C:

Madhya Pradesh 551/8d in 164 overs v Baroda 41/1 in 17 overs (KH Devdhar 7*)

Tripura 6/0 in 2 overs (BB Ghosh 4*, UU Bose 2*) v Odhisa

Tamil Nadu 112/2 in 54 overs (A Mukund 54*, B Aparijhit 15*) v Andhra 309 all out in 123.4 overs

Group D:

Himachal Pradesh 729/8d in 148 overs v Punjab 484/6 in 122 overs (Abhishek Gupta 129*, Abhishek Sharma 81*)

Chattisgarh 458 all out in 161.3 overs v Goa 223/4 in 97 overs (S Amonkar 79, RJ Pinto 25*, SS Bandekar 5*)

Bengal 552/9d & 77/0 in 11 overs (A Raman 40*) v Services 359 all out in 111.2 overs (Navneet Singh 121, Ravi Chauhan 53; Aa Gani 5/109).

First Published: Oct 08, 2017 22:02 IST