Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 19, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

South Africa name Heino Kuhn, Andile Phehlukwayo in Test squad against England

South Africa have included Heino Kuhn, Andile Phehlukwayo and Aiden Markram for the upcoming four-Test series against England starting on July 6.

cricket Updated: Jun 26, 2017 15:30 IST
South Africa national cricket team,England cricket team,England vs South Africa
Andile Phelukwayo, Heino Kuhn and Aiden Markram are the three uncapped players included in the South Africa squad for the four-Test series against England.(Getty Images)

South Africa have named three uncapped players in their squad for the four-match test series against England next month, including in-form opener Heino Kuhn.

All-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo, who played in the recent 2-1 Twenty20 International series loss in England, has also been included for the first time, along with batsman Aiden Markram.

Kuhn and Phehlukwayo take the places of Stephen Cook and Wayne Parnell, while Markram has been added as cover for captain Faf du Plessis, whose wife is expecting their first child around the time of the first test at Lord’s that starts on July 6.

The 33-year-old Kuhn is having a prolific summer in England with the South African A side after scoring 200 not out against Hampshire in a first-class fixture and following that up with 105 against England Lions.

The experienced Kuhn also provides cover for wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock, and has featured in seven Twenty20 Internationals.

Cricket South Africa convenor of selectors Linda Zondi suggested that the choice of Phehlukwayo was with one eye on the future.

“Andile’s selection is a continuation of our drive to develop bowling all-rounders for the test team. He and Chris Morris will fill this role in support of Vernon Philander. At the age of 21 he is certainly one for the future,” Zondi said.


Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis (captain), JP Duminy, Dean Elgar, Heino Kuhn, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Duanne Olivier, Andile Phehlukwayo, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada.

First Published: Jun 26, 2017 15:29 IST