Thisara Perera named Sri Lanka cricket captain for Pakistan T20s
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Thisara Perera named Sri Lanka cricket captain for Pakistan T20s

Thisara Perera has been confirmed as Sri Lanka cricket team captain for the upcoming T20 series against Pakistan, after several senior players had expressed their desire not to tour Pakistan, specifically Lahore, for the third game of the series.

cricket Updated: Oct 21, 2017 16:47 IST
AFP, Sharjah
Thisara Perera,Pakistan vs Sri Lanka,Sri Lanka Cricket Team
Thisara Perera has been named Sri Lanka’s captain for their three-T20 series against Pakistan, starting October 26. (AFP)

Thisara Perera will lead a 15-man Sri Lankan squad for the three-match Twenty20 series against Pakistan announced on Saturday, the last of which will be played in Lahore.

The Sri Lankan team will return to Pakistan for the first time since gunmen attacked their bus in Lahore in March 2009, forcing international teams to shun tours of Pakistan over security fears.

The first two matches will be played in Abu Dhabi on October 26 and 27 before the Sri Lankan team tours Pakistan in a fly-in, fly-out arrangement of 24 hours.

(Read | Pakistan win by seven wickets, Sri Lanka suffer 11th consecutive loss)

The last match will be played in Lahore on October 29.

Sri Lankan limited overs captain Upul Tharanga, fast bolwer Lasith Malinga, current team spearhead Suranga Lakmal, and batsmen Niroshan Dickwella and Chamara Kapugedara reportedly withdrew from the tour of Pakistan over security fears.

Malinga was not selected for the ongoing one-day series in United Arab Emirates (UAE) but had reportedly requested the Sri Lankan ministry to chose a different team for Lahore, which was rejected.

(Read | Pakistan cricket targeted by bookies, skipper Sarfraz Ahmed approached: Report)

Lakmal and Kapugedara were part of the squad which was attacked during the second Test in Lahore eight years ago, which left eight people killed and seven visiting team members and support staff were injured.

The 28-year-old Perera, appointed captain for the first time, toured Pakistan as member of a World XI for a three-match Twenty20 international series played in Lahore last month.

(Read | Hasan Ali’s unique ‘bomb explosion’ celebration and achieving childhood dream)

The World XI series was part of Pakistan Cricket Board’s effort to revive international cricket in the country, which also included the staging of the Pakistan Super League final in March this year.

Pakistan also hosted Zimbabwe for a five-match limited overs series in 2015 but bigger teams like Australia, India, England, New Zealand and South Africa have refsued to tour there.

That forced Pakistan to play their home matches in neutral venues in UAE.

Pakistan currently leads the five-match one-day series 4-0 with the last match in Sharjah on Monday.

Sri Lanka T20I squad: Thisara Perera (captain), Dilshan Munaweera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Ashan Priyanjan, Mahela Udawatte, Dasun Shanaka, Sachith Pathirana, Vikum Sanjaya, Lahiru Gamage, Seekkuge Prasanna, Vishwa Fernando, Isuru Udana, Jeffrey Vandersay and Chathuranga de Silva.

First Published: Oct 21, 2017 16:22 IST