MCD bypoll: Maujpur to hit polling booths today
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

MCD bypoll: Maujpur to hit polling booths today

Elections to the East Corporation ward was put on hold following the death of Samajwadi Party candidate Naseema a few days before the poll scheduled on April 23.

delhi Updated: May 13, 2017 23:38 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
municipal bypoll,Maujpur bypoll,Maujpur
Shaheen, deceased SP candidate Naseema’s daughter, who is contesting in the Maujpur bypolls on Sunday.

The polling for municipal bypolls in Maujpur ward of East Delhi Municipal Corporation will be held on Sunday. The election was put off following the death of Samajwadi Party (SP) candidate Naseema a few days before the polling on April 23.

The election was also put on hold in Sarai Pipal Thala ward in North Delhi Municipal Corporation for the same reason, where polling will take place on May 21.

SP has fielded Naseema’s daughter Shaheen in Maujpur and Dinesh Singh’s son Himanshu Singh in Sarai Pipal Thala.

The other candidates contesting in Maujpur are Rekha Sharma of Congress, Suman Sharma of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Reshma of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). The ward is currently held by the BJP, whose candidate Sanjay Jain (outgoing leader of house, EDMC) had won the municipal elections in 2012 with 12,652 votes.

At Sarai Pipal Thala, Rajeev Bansal will contest for AAP, Mangat Ram for the BJP, Mukesh Goel (former leader of opposition in North MCD) for Congress and Mohammad Sarif for Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).

In 2012, BSP’s Parmesh Kumar Chauhan had beaten Janata Dal (United) candidate by 5,713 votes in Sarai Pipal Thala. Ashwani Ahuja of the BJP had garnered 5,004 votes back then.

The BJP has registered an emphatic win in the three municipal body elections last month winning 181 wards, while AAP could secure 48 wards and Congress was restricted to 30 wards.

In EDMC, the BJP has 47 wards and the AAP and Congress have 11 and three seats respectively. In North Corporation, the BJP has 64 and AAP has 21 councillors. The Congress could win only 15 seats.

First Published: May 13, 2017 22:51 IST