New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Dec 05, 2019-Thursday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Thursday, Dec 05, 2019

UNPA's 8 MPs to vote against UPA Govt

TDP leader K Yerrannaidu says the TDP with five MPs, AGP having two and JVM one member will vote against the motion of confidence in the LS on July 22.

delhi Updated: Jul 11, 2008 21:20 IST


The UNPA comprising TDP, AGP and Jharkhand Viakas Morcha (JVM) with eight MPs in Lok Sabha will vote against the confidence to be sought by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on July 22.

"The TDP with five MPs, AGP having two and Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM) one member will vote against the motion of confidence in the Lok Sabha on July 22," TDP parliamentary party leader K Yerrannaidu told PTI.

He said the government would find it difficult to win the trust vote by a convincing margin and even if it managed to scrape through, small parties jockeying for plum ministries will be keeping the Manmohan Singh ministry always on tenterhooks.

The UNPA objecting to a "minority government" taking any policy decision before proving its majority in the Lok Sabha. After Left parties withdrew support to the UPA, the government has been reduced to minority and "it cannot proceed even one step without taking confidence vote", Yerrannaidu said.

The TDP leader termed as "unconstitutional" the submission of the safeguards document to the IAEA Board of Governors and said it amounted to "pure violation" of the assurance given by External Affairs Minister Pranab Mukherjee that the government will go to the international nuclear watchdog only after going to Parliament.

Yerrannaidu, who is in touch with JD(S) leader and former Prime Minister HD Devegowda, RLD chief Ajit Singh and Left leaders Prakash Karat and AB Bardhan, accused the prime minister of making the nuclear deal a "personal and prestige issue" ignoring matters of national interest such as inflation, farmers suicide and foodgrain shortage.

He said there was "conflict" within Samajwadi Party and JMM and these parties might not vote enbloc.