CBSE revises assessment scheme for Class 10 vocational stream
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2019-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

CBSE revises assessment scheme for Class 10 vocational stream

Students appearing for Class 10 board exams from next year will have to study six subjects instead of five with the CBSE remodelling its assessment scheme.

education Updated: Mar 10, 2017 22:16 IST
CBSE,CBSE board exams,CBSE Class 10 exams
Students preparing in last minutes as they wait outside their examination centre to take the CBSE Board exams at Evergreen School, Vasundhra Enclave in New Delhi on March 9, 2017.(Mohd Zakir/HT PHOTO)

The CBSE has remodelled its assessment scheme, allowing Class 10 students in vocational stream who fail in any of social science, mathematics and science papers to replace it with a vocational subject.

However, if a candidate wishes to reappear for the failed subject, he/she can appear in the compartment examination.

Under the National Skills Qualifications Framework (NSQF), students in vocational stream have to study six subjects, wherein the sixth subject is an additional subject.

The CBSE offers two streams in Class 10 -- vocational and academic.

Those opting for academic stream have to study five subjects - two languages, social science, mathematics and science.

Those opting for the vocational stream, however, will have to compulsorily study the sixth subject under the NSQF with the remodelled assessment scheme being implemented from 2017-18 academic year.

“If a candidate fails to pass in any one of the three elective subjects -- science, social science, mathematics-- then it will be replaced by the vocational subject (offered as sixth additional subject),” a CBSE circular said.

“The board exam result will be computed accordingly. However, if a candidate desires to reappear for the failed subject he/she can appear in the compartment examination,” it added.

Students will have 13 options to choose from for the sixth subject -- Dynamics of Retailing, Information Technology, Security, Automobile Technology, Introduction to Financial Market, Introduction to Tourism, Beauty and Wellness, Basic Agriculture, Food Production, Front Office Operations, Banking and Insurance, Marketing and Sales, and Health Care Services.

According to the circular, the maximum marks will be 100. Out of the total 100 marks, the board exam will be of 50 marks, and 50 marks are allocated for internal assessment/practical examination.

A candidate will have to score 33% marks in both board exam and practical exam to pass the subject.

In another major decision, the CBSE has decided to do away with seven academic electives and 34 vocational subjects for Class 12 because of low enrolment numbers.

First Published: Mar 10, 2017 15:22 IST