Today in New Delhi, India
May 20, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Belgium’s Thibaut Courtois wins World Cup Golden Glove award

Belgium’s Thibaut Courtois was named best goalkeeper while Belgium finished as the World Cup’s highest-scoring team with 16 goals from 10 different players.

football Updated: Jul 16, 2018 01:04 IST
FIFA World Cup 2018,Thibaut Courtois,Belgium
Belgium's goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois won the World Cup Golden Glove award.(AFP)

Thibaut Courtois has won the Golden Glove award for the best goalkeeper at the 2018 World Cup.

Belgium goalkeeper Courtois was influential in his side’s run to the semi-finals as his country achieved their best finish in the tournament, coming third.

READ | Kylian Mbappe emulates Brazil legend Pele in World Cup final 2018

The Chelsea man kept clean sheets against Panama and England twice, while alsoimpressing in a win over Brazil, to edge out finalists Hugo Lloris and Danijel Subasic.

After it was confirmed he had won the award following the final, Courtois posted on Twitter: “One of the biggest individual honors you can get as a goalkeeper! So proud of this!”

The prize is given to the keeper deemed by FIFA’s Technical Study Group to have been the most impressive in the tournament.

Germany’s Manuel Neuer won in 2014. Otherpast winners include Iker Casillas, Gianluigi Buffon, Oliver Kahn, Fabien Barthez and Michel Preud’homme.

First Published: Jul 15, 2018 23:46 IST