We Can Be Heroes movie review: Priyanka Chopra as Ms Granada, in a still from Robert Rodriguez’s new film.(Ryan Green/NETFLIX © 2020)
We Can Be Heroes movie review: Priyanka Chopra as Ms Granada, in a still from Robert Rodriguez’s new film.(Ryan Green/NETFLIX © 2020)

We Can Be Heroes movie review: Priyanka Chopra hams her way through Robert Rodriguez’s silly superhero film

We Can Be Heroes movie review: A hammy Priyanka Chopra headlines the adult cast in director Robert Rodriguez’s silly superhero film, aimed squarely at kids.
By Rohan Naahar | Hindustan Times
UPDATED ON DEC 25, 2020 06:19 PM IST

We Can Be Heroes
Director - Robert Rodriguez
Cast - Priyanka Chopra, Pedro Pascal, Haley Reinhart, YaYa Gosselin, Boyd Holbrook, Sung Kang, Taylor Dooley, Christian Slater

With virtually nothing in it for the people who actually pay for Netflix subscriptions, We Can Be Heroes is the sort of kids movie that is pretty much inaccessible to anyone over the age of 13.

Directed by Robert Rodriguez, who has, to put it mildly, one of the strangest filmographies ever, it feels like the culmination of a creative experiment that the filmmaker has been tinkering away at for decades. We Can Be Heroes is a stealth sequel to Rodriguez’s 2005 film The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl in 3-D, but the cat was let out of the bag before the movie’s release — probably because this film’s target audience wasn’t alive when Sharkboy and Lavagirl were adventuring (in 3-D!).

Watch the We Can Be Heroes trailer here

 

Tying We Can Be Heroes to his old film, however loosely, is perhaps the only attempt that Rodriguez makes at appealing to adults — besides, of course, a subplot that involves a President who can’t string a sentence together, because he’s so dumb.

Priyanka Chopra hams it up as Ms Granada, who is essentially a power-suit-wearing manifestation of corporate America. She’s the evil CEO of Heroics, a team of superheroes who’re kidnapped by tentacled aliens in the film’s opening scenes. With the planet under attack and their parents in peril, it falls upon their children, led by Missy Moreno (YaYa Gosselin) to rescue them from the aliens and save the world.

Priyanka’s got the pitch of her performance right — We Can Be Heroes is a silly movie, in which everyone is operating on cartoon frequency — but I wish she’d have chosen one accent and stuck to it. Is Ms Granada supposed to be Hispanic? Then why does she sound like a SoBo girl who spent a semester abroad?

Pedro Pascal in a still from We Can Be Heroes. (Ryan Green/NETFLIX © 2020)
Pedro Pascal in a still from We Can Be Heroes. (Ryan Green/NETFLIX © 2020)

While the adults have very limited screen time across the board, Priyanka plays quite a pivotal role in the movie. In fact, poor Pedro Pascal and Boyd Holbrook appear to have drawn the short straws. I wouldn’t be surprised if you told me they finished filming all their scenes in a couple of days.

Heck, I wouldn’t be surprised if you told me Rodriguez finished filming the entire movie in a week. It has the sort of DIY aesthetic that was cute (and even a little admirable) back when the filmmaker was a Rebel Without a Crew, but he was unshackled from restraints such as limited budgets and lack of studio support years ago. He no longer needs to perform every job on the film — as per usual, Rodriguez is credited as director, writer, producer, editor and cinematographer here — but this might be the only way he knows how to make movies.

Well, that’s unfortunate. Because only a few weeks ago, he helmed one of the best episodes of The Mandalorian. And we all saw how enjoyable his Alita: Battle Angel was last year. He works better in conventional set-ups.

Just because a film’s made for children doesn’t mean it has to be juvenile. In its final moments, We Can Be Heroes tries to have its cake an eat it too — but it’s too little too late. It ends with a warm message and the promise of a sequel. Worryingly, Rodriguez doesn’t have the best track record with those.

Follow @htshowbiz for more
The author tweets @RohanNaahar

SHARE THIS ARTICLE ON
app
Close
Priyanka Chopra has shot for a new episode of Hot Ones.
Priyanka Chopra has shot for a new episode of Hot Ones.

Priyanka Chopra paces around with milk in hand after shooting another Hot Ones

PUBLISHED ON JAN 23, 2021 02:20 PM IST
Priyanka Chopra has shot for yet another episode of Hot Ones where celebrities are made to gulp down spicy sauces, to test their tolerance for hot food.
Close
Armie Hammer arrives at the Oscars 2018.(Jordan Strauss/Invision/AP)
Armie Hammer arrives at the Oscars 2018.(Jordan Strauss/Invision/AP)

Armie Hammer contacted by cops after posting disturbing video on private account

PUBLISHED ON JAN 22, 2021 01:44 PM IST
  • Actor Armie Hammer was contacted by the Cayman Islands police after they received a complaint about a video he posted on a private Instagram account. The video showed a woman posing on all-fours in a hotel room.
Close
The White Tiger movie review: Adarsh Gourav, Priyanka Chopra Jonas and Rajkummar Rao in a still from the new Ramin Bahrani film.
The White Tiger movie review: Adarsh Gourav, Priyanka Chopra Jonas and Rajkummar Rao in a still from the new Ramin Bahrani film.

The White Tiger review: Adarsh Gourav roars in Netflix's angry answer to Slumdog

UPDATED ON JAN 22, 2021 08:46 PM IST
  • The White Tiger movie review: Adarsh Gourav delivers a star-making performance in Ramin Bahrani's angry answer to Slumdog Millionaire, co-starring Priyanka Chopra Jonas and Rajkummar Rao.
Close
Deepika Padukone was seen with Vin Diesel in xXx: The Return of Xander Cage.
Deepika Padukone was seen with Vin Diesel in xXx: The Return of Xander Cage.

Deepika Padukone signs Hollywood agency ICM

PUBLISHED ON JAN 22, 2021 01:02 PM IST
Deepika Padukone is hoping more representation in Hollywood and has now signed on agency ICM, which currently represents multiple stars such as Eugene Levy, Regina King and others.
Close
Daniel Craig as James Bond in No Time To Die.
Daniel Craig as James Bond in No Time To Die.

James Bond movie No Time to Die delayed again, release date pushed to Oct

Reuters
PUBLISHED ON JAN 22, 2021 10:25 AM IST
The release of James Bond movie No Time to Die has been postponed again. The film is now scheduled to release in October.
Close
Tom Holland in his audition tape for Spider-Man.
Tom Holland in his audition tape for Spider-Man.

Tom Holland recalls 'terrible' Marvel audition process for Spider-Man

UPDATED ON JAN 21, 2021 02:22 PM IST
  • Actor Tom Holland spoke about the arduous audition process for Spider-Man in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, and the time he thought he'd be fired from the role.
Close
Ben Affleck and Ana de Armas have reportedly ended their relationship.
Ben Affleck and Ana de Armas have reportedly ended their relationship.

Ana de Armas' life-size cutout trashed outside Ben Affleck's house after breakup

PUBLISHED ON JAN 20, 2021 03:54 PM IST
  • A life-size cutout of Ana de Armas was trashed outside Ben Affleck's house, amid reports of their breakup.
Close
Chris Hemsworth and Sam Hargrave on the set of Extraction.
Chris Hemsworth and Sam Hargrave on the set of Extraction.

Extraction director says Marvel universe is inspiration for franchise's future

PUBLISHED ON JAN 19, 2021 02:30 PM IST
  • Joe and Anthony Russo are bringing their Marvel Cinematic Universe experience to fleshing out the Extraction franchise, director Sam Hargrave has said.
Close
Justin Timberlake is reportedly trying to mend his relationship Jessica Biel.
Justin Timberlake is reportedly trying to mend his relationship Jessica Biel.

Justin Timberlake announces birth of second son with Jessica Biel, reveals name

PUBLISHED ON JAN 18, 2021 01:38 PM IST
  • Celebrity couple Justin Timberlake and Jessica Biel have welcomed their second child, a year after he publicly apologised for inappropriate behaviour amid cheating rumours.
Close
Priyanka Chopra and Adarsh Gourav in The White Tiger.
Priyanka Chopra and Adarsh Gourav in The White Tiger.

Priyanka Chopra drops Divine's banging original song from White Tiger. Listen

PUBLISHED ON JAN 15, 2021 09:02 PM IST
  • Priyanka Chopra has shared Jungle Mantra, an original song from the White Tiger soundtrack, by Divine, featuring Vince Staples and Pusha T. Listen here.
Close
Ray Fisher played Cyborg in Justice League.
Ray Fisher played Cyborg in Justice League.

Ray Fisher confirms he's been removed from Flash movie, amid standoff with WB

UPDATED ON JAN 15, 2021 04:04 PM IST
  • Actor Ray Fisher has released a lengthy statement confirming his removal from the upcoming Flash movie, amid his standoff with Warner Bros.
Close
Riz Ahmed has talked about his wife for the first time.
Riz Ahmed has talked about his wife for the first time.

Riz Ahmed reveals his 'secret' wedding details along with wife's name

ANI
PUBLISHED ON JAN 15, 2021 03:35 PM IST
Riz Ahmed has talked about his wife for the first time, how they got married during the pandemic and more.
Close
Chris Evans played Captain America in multiple MCU movies.
Chris Evans played Captain America in multiple MCU movies.

Chris Evans denies being in talks with Marvel to return as Captain America

PUBLISHED ON JAN 15, 2021 11:16 AM IST
As per fresh reports, Chris Evans is reportedly in talks to return to the Marvel Cinematic Universe as Captain America. The actor, however, has denied the rumours.
Close
Armie Hammer and Elizabeth Chambers have two kids together.
Armie Hammer and Elizabeth Chambers have two kids together.

Armie Hammer breaks silence on DMs scandal, says he's quit his upcoming film

PUBLISHED ON JAN 14, 2021 09:29 PM IST
  • Actor Armie Hammer announced that he is quitting his upcoming film, amid a scandal around messages that he allegedly sent a woman.
Close
Patralekhaa reminisced about Rajkummar Rao's journey from Gurugram to New York.
Patralekhaa reminisced about Rajkummar Rao's journey from Gurugram to New York.

Patralekhaa spots The White Tiger hoarding in NYC, gives shout-out to Rajkummar

PUBLISHED ON JAN 14, 2021 07:57 PM IST
  • Patralekhaa spotted Rajkummar Rao on a hoarding of The White Tiger in New York and shared a picture on Instagram stories. She reminisced about his incredible journey, from Gurugram to New York.
Close
SHARE
Story Saved
OPEN APP