23 tableaux to depict India’s culture and progress at Republic Day Parade 2023

Published on Jan 23, 2023 05:07 PM IST

Out of the 23 tableaux finalised for the Republic Day Parade 2023, 17 are from states and Union Territories while six are from various ministries and departments

The selection of the proposed tableaux were made after scrutiny by an expert committee. (PTI)
The selection of the proposed tableaux were made after scrutiny by an expert committee. (PTI)
BySaptarshi Das

The Union Defence Ministry said on Sunday that 23 tableaux have been finalised to be a part of the upcoming Republic Day parade which will represent ‘India’s vibrant cultural heritage, economic and social progress’.

“Twenty-three tableaux – 17 from States/Union Territories and six from various Ministries/Departments, depicting the nation’s rich cultural heritage, economic progress and strong internal and external security will roll down the Kartavya Path during the Republic Day parade on January 26, 2023,” a government release read.

The selection of the proposed tableaux were made after scrutiny by an expert committee.

“Several rounds of interactions by the committee members with representatives of the States on the theme, presentation, aesthetics and technical elements of the tableaux were done as part of the selection process,” the release said.

“Six tableaux from Ministry of Culture, Ministry of Home Affairs (Central Armed Police Forces), Ministry of Home Affairs (Narcotics Control Bureau), Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs (Central Public Works Department), Ministry of Tribal Affairs and Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare (Indian Council Agriculture Research) will also be on display, showcasing the works and achievements in the last few years,” it added.

The government said the selection of States/UTs tableaux were made on zonal basis, categorising States/UTs into six zones, namely Northern Zone, Central Zone, Eastern Zone, Western Zone, Southern Zone and North Eastern Zone.

Normally, approximately 15 tableaux from States/UTs are selected for Republic Day parade, the release said.

The states whose tableaux will be showcased during the parade are Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Tripura, West Bengal, Gujarat, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Jharkhand, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Kerala.

And the Union Territories selected are Jammu & Kashmir, Ladakh and Dadar Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu.

Republic Day this year will be celebrated on the revamped Central Vista avenue, Kartavya Path (previously named Rajpath).

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, February 01, 2023
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals