Big blow to KCR as 13-party opposition statement excludes Telangana CM: Report | Latest News India - Hindustan Times

Big blow to KCR as 13-party opposition statement excludes Telangana CM: Report

ANI | , New Delhi
Apr 17, 2022 05:42 PM IST

The joint statement, issued by senior leaders Sonia Gandhi, Sharad Pawar, and Mamata Banerjee, not only poured cold waters on KCR's national political ambitions but also revealed division in the Opposition ranks.

While Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao has been pitching as the anti-BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) face, the 13-party joint statement by not including him appears to have poured cold waters on his national political ambitions while also revealing division in the Opposition ranks.

Telangana chief minister K Chandrashekhar Rao(PTI File)
Telangana chief minister K Chandrashekhar Rao(PTI File)

The joint statement was issued by senior leaders of 13 opposition parties, including interim president of Congress Sonia Gandhi, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) patriarch Sharad Pawar, and the West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee. The Opposition leaders in the joint statement expressed their concerns at incidents of communal violence in different parts of the country.

Unlock exclusive access to the latest news on India's general elections, only on the HT App. Download Now! Download Now!

But the joint statement didn't include leaders from Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and Janata Dal (Secular) even though their leaders N Chandrababu Naidu and HD Deve Gowda respectively had previously been active in the national politics.

READ: Opposition leaders issue joint appeal on hate speech, communal violence, target govt

The absence of the three parties from the joint statement is being seen as a blow to the Opposition's unity in the political circles. That it's in the backdrop of the Opposition parties holding parleys in the recent months to close their ranks in the run-up to the 2024 general elections makes the non-inclusion of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), TDP, JD (S) significant. It also signals the isolation of KCR from the national politics in the Opposition camp.

The Telangana CM in the recent past has shown his national political ambitions, making attempts to project himself as an alternative to PM Modi. He has also called on the 'like-minded' parties to come together to form a third front to take on the BJP.

In a bid to intensify efforts to bring together the anti-BJP parties on one platform, Rao met several Opposition leaders. He had met Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray and NCP supremo Sharad Pawar during his Mumbai visit in February.

Expanding his outreach to the 'like-minded' parties, KCR, in the recent past, had backed Congress leader Rahul Gandhi over alleged derogatory remarks of Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma against former PM Rajiv Gandhi.

READ: ‘Sowing seed of hatred' - BJP slams Cong as oppn questions PM's 'silence'

On the contrary, in what could be seen as a major setback, Rahul Gandhi made it clear in a meeting with the Telangana party leaders that Congress would not forge an alliance with TRS. Pawar and Shiv Sena have also stated that no third front is possible without the inclusion of Congress.

While TDP contested Assembly elections with Congress in Telangana and Andhra Pradesh, the party failed to gain mention in the 13-party joint statement.

The JD (S), which had an alliance with Congress in Karnataka, too wasn't included in the joint statement.

The exclusion of TDP from the list of 'like-minded' parties points toward a possible tussle between the party and Congress. The two parties have contested elections in alliance with each other in the past, hence the exclusion has raised eyebrows.

Sonia Gandhi (Congress), Sharad Pawar (NCP), Mamata Banerjee (TMC), M K Stalin (DMK), CPI (M)'s Sitaram Yechury, Farooq Abdullah (NC), Tejashwi Yadav (RJD), D Raja (CPI), Debabrata Biswas (Forward Bloc), Manoj Bhattacharya (RSP), PK Kunhalikutty (IUML), and CPI (ML)'s Dipanker Bhattacharya issued the joint statement on Saturday.

Tell us what your First Vote will stand for in a short video & get a chance to be featured on HT’s social media handles. Click here to know more!

Get Current Updates on India News, Elections 2024, Lok Sabha Election 2024 Live, Election 2024 Date, Weather Today along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world.
Share this article
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, May 22, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On