From HT Archives: Governors sworn in, Indian states get going

When India got independence on August 15, 1947, states of the new union got their own governments. Hindustan Times’ Page 1 that day reported the event as ‘Governors Sworn In As Free India Is Born’.

IndependenceDay2017 Updated: Aug 14, 2017 13:54 IST
Rajendra Prasad, President of the Constituent Assembly signs the new Constitution of the Indian Republic as passed by the constituent Assembly - HT Photo.

The new Governors of Indian provinces were sworn in at midnight on Thursday.

In the midst of recitals from Hindu, Jain, Budh, Christians, Muslim and Sikh Holy Scriptures, Mrs Sarojini Naidu was installed at Lucknow as the first Indian Governor of the U.P. in a free India.

The oath of allegiance and office was administrative by the chief Justice of Allahabad High Court in Hindi in the bail room of Government House which was fully packed. After the swearing-in ceremony Mrs. Sarojini

Naidu administrated oath of office and secrecy to the premier Pandit Govind Ballabh Pant and three other ministers, Mr Sampurnanand, Mr Hafiz Mohammad Ibrahim and Thakur Hukum Singh.


Mr Jairamdas Daulatram was sworn in as Governor of Bihar at Government House in Patna at midnight tonight. The ceremony took in all about ten minutes.

Mr Jairamdas entered the hall at 11-55 p.m. clad in Khaki sherwani and crust pyjama and wore a Gandhi cap. He was greeted with shouts of Jai Hind and swatantra bharat ki jai . He took the oath of allegiance in Hindustani and signed his name in Devanagari.

After the chief secretary read out the warrant of appointment in Hindustani, the Chief Justice of Patna High Court administrated the oath allegiance and office.

All the Ministers, the President of the Provincial Congress Committee and prominent officials and non-officials were present on the oath event. For the first time in the history of the province Government officers, except police officers attended a function at Government House in Indian Dress.

The Governor of West Bengal, Mr Rajagopalachariji and his Council of Ministers, headed by Dr P.C. Ghosh were sworn in at Government House in Calcutta at midnight today.

First Published: Aug 14, 2017 13:53 IST