Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 16, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

JNU students’ union elections today, eight presidential candidates in fray

The main contenders in the elections are the United Left, comprising AISA, SFI, DSF and AISF; ABVP and NSUI.

india Updated: Sep 14, 2018 02:55 IST
JNU,students’ union election,candidates
Supporters of different parties shout slogans in support of their candidates during the debate session for presidential elections, at Jawaharlal Nehru University.(Sanchit Khanna/HT Photo)

Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) students will vote on Friday in the students’ union polls, which will test the electoral fortunes of eight candidates eyeing the top post in the politically active campus.

All arrangements have been made by election authorities for the Jawaharlal Nehru Students’ Union (JNUSU) polls, which are being closely watched in the aftermath of various controversies which rocked varsities across the country in the recent past.

The Left-backed All India Students’ Association (AISA), Students Federation of India (SFI), Democratic Students Federation (DSF) and All India Students Federation (AISF) have come together to form the United Left alliance.

The alliance has fielded N Sai Balaji of the School of International Studies as its presidential candidate.

DSF’s Sarika Chaudhary will be contesting for the post of vice-president, SFI’s Aejaz Ahmad Rather will be contesting for the post of general secretary and AISF’s Amutha Jayadeep will be contesting for the joint secretary’s position. All three of them are from the School of Social Sciences.

The Congress-affiliated National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) has fielded Vikas Yadav of the School of International Studies for the president’s post. Lijy K Babu of the School of Life Sciences will be contesting for the post of vice-president.

Md Mofizul Alam will be contesting for the post of general secretary, while Ngurang Reena of the School of International Studies will be contesting for the post of joint secretary.

The RSS-affiliated Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) has fielded Lalit Pandey for the president’s post, Geetashri Boruah for the vice-president’s post, Ganesh Gurjar for the post of general secretary and Venkat Choubey for the joint secretary’s post.

Besides routine campaigning, candidates in JNU are also supposed to participate in the presidential debate and answer questions that follow. The event, a sought-after affair, was held on Wednesday night on the lines of the US Presidential debate and will be a deciding factor for the union elections.

First Published: Sep 14, 2018 01:31 IST