MP Municipal Election Result: AAP clinches Singrauli mayor's post

Updated on Jul 17, 2022 04:03 PM IST

MP Municipal Election Result 2022 Phase 1 Live Updates: The AAP has for the first time forayed into the civic polls in Madhya Pradesh.

Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal
Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal
By | Reported by Shruti Tomar | Written by Aryan Prakash

The Aam Aadmi Party made an impressive debut in the phase 1 of Madhya Pradesh civic polls, winning the post of mayor in Singrauli.

AAP candidate Rani Agrawal defeated Bharatiya Janata Party's Chandra Prakash Vishwakarma and Congress candidate Arvind Chandel. The AAP has for the first time forayed into the civic polls in Madhya Pradesh.

This is not the only electoral success by the Arvind Kejriwal-led party in the civic polls. Earlier in the day, the party candidate Geeta Kushwaha won from Ward No 3 in Orchha municipality.

The counting for the first phase of Madhya Pradesh civic elections are underway. The BJP mayor candidates have won in Burhanpur, Satna and Khandwa.

The counting for the second phase of elections will be held on July 20.

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.

    Follow the latest breaking news and developments from India and around the world with Hindustan Times' newsdesk. From politics and policies to the economy and the environment, from local issues to national events and global affairs, we've got you covered.

Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Friday, September 30, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals