Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 13, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Yogi, four others elected unopposed to Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, his two deputies and a minister were today declared elected unopposed to the Legislative Council.

india Updated: Sep 08, 2017 17:06 IST
Indo Asian News Service
Indo Asian News Service
Indo Asian News Service, Lucknow
Yogi Adityanath,Uttar Pradesh,Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council
UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath addressing at a function in Moradabad on Sunday. (PTI File Photo)

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, his deputies Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma, were on Friday elected unopposed to the state Legislative Council, election commission officials said.

Along with them, Minister of State for Transport Swatantra Dev Singh and Minister of State Mohsin Raza, the sole Muslim Minister in the state government, have also been declared elected unopposed.

Maurya went to the state election commission office to collect his certificate of election while an officer on special duty (OSD) at the Chief Minister’s Office collected it on behalf of Adityanath.

Deputy Chief Minister Dinesh Sharma, Swantantra Dev Singh and cricketer-turned-politician Mohsin Raza are yet to collect their election certificate.

The five were elected in the by-polls which were held after four Samajwadi Party (SP) and one Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) MLCs quit their seats in August.

First Published: Sep 08, 2017 17:04 IST