Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 13, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

311 armed personnel in Presidential R-Day honours

A Gorkha Non-Commissioned officer, who felled three Lashkar terrorists in J&K is part of the Presidential Republic Day roll of honours.

india Updated: Jan 25, 2006 18:53 IST

A Gorkha Non-Commissioned officer, Subedar Jagat Bahadur Ghale, who felled three Lashkarterrorists in hand-to-hand combat close to Line of Control in Jammu and Kashmir is among the 311 armed forces personnel, who figure in this year's Presidential Republic Day roll of honours.

Ghale, who made the supreme sacrifice in the battle in dense Rajawar forests has been awarded this year's lone Kirti Chakra, the nation's second highest peace time gallantry award.

The awards lists comprise 18 Param Vishist Seva medals, 47 AVSMs, 17 Shaurya Chakra, 119 Sena medals, 106 VSM,s and 25 Vayu sena medals.

Director General Military Operations Lt Gen Madan Gopal, Vice Chief of Army Staff Lt Gen S Pattabhiraman, Western Air Force Commander Air Marshal AK Singh, Lt Gen Devraj Singh, Director General Infantry and Lt Gen Anup Singh Jamwal, Adjutant General are among those decorated with Param Vishist Seva medal, for distinguished service of the highest order.

The other armed forces top brass figuring in the PVSM list include the Eastern Air Commander, Air Marshal Fali Homi Major, country's Strategic Forces Commander Air Marshal AD Joshi and Padma Bandhopadhyay, country's first ever Woman Air Marshal.

Northern Army Commander, Lt Gen Deepak Kapoor, who is in line to take over the mantle of next Army Chief, Lt Gen Deepak Harishchandra Summanwar, Director General of Military Intelligence and who led a division during kargil operations and Air Commodore Ram Krishan Ganjoo are among 50 personnel awarded Ati Vishist Seva Medals.

First Published: Jan 25, 2006 18:33 IST