Updated on Apr 04, 2004 04:15 PM IST

Shiv Sena-BJP, Congress-NCP, Samajwadi Party and Bharipa Bahujan Mahasangh (BBM) candidates are in the fray here.

HT Image
HT Image
PTI | ByPress Trust of India

The Akola Lok Sabha constituency in Vidarbha region of Maharashtra is likely to witness a quadrangular fight between Shiv Sena-BJP, Congress-NCP, Samajwadi Party and Bharipa Bahujan Mahasangh (BBM) candidates.

BBM leader Prakash Ambedkar, who won the seat in 1998 and 1999 by a slender margin, is likely to face an uphill task as he is expected to lose the traditional votes of the Congress and NCP, with whom he severed ties recently. The challenge would be stiff for the dalit leader if Samajwadi Party candidate remains in the fray.

This leaves an edge for Shiv-Sena-BJP alliance nominee Sanjay Dhotre, who is the sitting BJP MLA from Murtizapur in the district over Congress-NCP and Samajwadi Party nominees.

Laxmanrao Tayde, a sitting Congress MLA from Balapur in the district, is the Congress-NCP alliance nominee, while Mukim Ahmad Abdul Rasid is contesting on the SP ticket.

Ambedkar is a candidate of the Vidarbha Rajya Party led by Banwarilal Purohit.

Dhotre, Tayde and Mukim are the new faces seeking entry for the first time in Lok Sabha.

A total of 15 candidates are in the fray for the April 20 polls.

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Saturday, December 03, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals