Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 14, 2018-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Asif hits back after Murali's blows

The pace bowler's devastating spell left Lanka reeling on 73 for eight in their second innings after Muralitharan had restricted Pakistan batsmen.

india Updated: Apr 04, 2006 18:49 IST

A devastating spell by Mohammad Asif left Sri Lanka reeling on 73 for eight wickets in their second innings of the second Test, as the Pakistani seam bowler grabbed his first 10-wicket haul in a Test match.

Coming to bowl while 109 runs behind in the second innings, Asif bowled out Upul Tharanga (12), Kumar Sangakkara (16) and Thilan Samaraweera (4).

Later he trapped Ferveez Maharoof lbw and had Tillakaratne Dilshan caught by wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal to finish the second day with 5-27 after a sensational spell.

At stumps the hosts were 73 for eight wickets with an overall 182-run lead with one second innings wicket remaining, with Sanath Jayasuriya unlikely to bat because of injury.

Earlier in the day ace off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan grabbed five wickets to put Sri Lanka in lead of the Test before Pakistan's quick bowlers fought to keep their hopes alive.

It was a bowlers' paradise at Asgiriya Stadium, Kandy as 20 wickets fell during the day.

Muralitharan's 5-39 helped Sri Lanka dismiss Pakistan for 170 and earn a comfortable first innings lead after being dismissed for 279 in their first innings. Seamer Nuwan Kulasekera recorded 2-45.

Jayasuriya, playing in his last Test match, cut and dislocated his right thumb when he took a catch to dismiss Imran Farhat (23) at gully. He is unlikely to take any further part in the Test match, team physiotherapist Tommy Simsek said.

Earlier in the day, Asif captured the two overnight Sri Lankan first innings wickets after the hosts resumed the day with 267 for eight wickets.

Legspinner Danish Kaneria bowled a fine supporting spell to record 4-53.


Sri Lanka 1st Innings: 279.Pakistan 1st Innings: Imran Farhat c Jayasuriya b Kulasekera 23, Kamran Akmal c Jayawardene b Muralitharan 33, Younis Khan c Samaraweera b Maharoof 35, Mohammad Yousuf b Muralitharan 17, Inzamam-ul-Haq run out 15, Faisal Iqbal lbwMuralitharan 5, Abdul Razzaq b Muralitharan 4, Rao Ifthikar not out 9, Umar Gul c Sangakkara b Kulasekera 4, Mohammad Asif run out 0, Danish Kaneria c Sangakkara b Muralitharan 4, Extras (b-4, lb-9, nb-7, w-1) 21, Total: (all out in 52.4 overs) 170.

Fall of wickets: 1-57, 2-71, 3-121, 4-125, 5-140, 6-149, 7-162, 8-166, 9-166.

Bowling: Lasith Malinga 6-2-19-0, Ferveez Maharoof 14-2-54-1, Nuwan Kulasekera 16-3-45-2, Muttiah Muralitharan 16.4-4-39-5.

Sri Lanka 2nd Innings: Upul Tharanga b Asif 12, Kumar Sangakkara b Asif 16, Mahela Jayawardene b Razzaq 15, Thilan Samaraweera b Asif 4, Tillakaratne Dilshan c Akmal b Asif 11, Ferveez Maharoof lbwAsif 1, Malinga Bandara c Akmal b Razzaq 4, Nuwan Kulasekera c Gul b Razzaq 6, Lasith Malinga not out 0, Extras (lb-3, w-1) 4, Total: (for eight wickets, 24.4 overs) 73.

Fall of wickets: 1-22, 2-40, 3-46, 4-56, 5-57, 6-65, 7-72, 8-73.

Bowling: Mohammad Asif 12-6-27-5,Rao Ifthikar 3-1-8-0, Umar Gul 3-0-15-0, Abdul Razzaq 6.4-1-20-3.

Umpires: Steve Davis (Australia), Daryl Harper (Australia). TV umpire: Asoka de Silva (Sri Lanka); Match Referee: Alan Hurst (Australia).

First Published: Apr 04, 2006 18:49 IST