Assembly poll ends in Andhra

Updated on Apr 21, 2004 12:17 PM IST

Polling for the first phase of simultaneous elections to 21 LS and 147 Assembly seats in Andhra Pradesh ended on Tuesday.

HT Image
HT Image
PTI | ByPress Trust of India, Hyderabad

Polling for the first phase of simultaneous elections to 21 Lok Sabha and 147 Assembly constituencies in Andhra Pradesh ended today.

Over 2.73 crore voters exercised their franchise in the first phase to decide the fate of 132 candidates for the Lok Sabha and 857 contestants for Assembly.

Among prominent candidates whose fate was decded today in the Lok Sabha polls were Union Ministers Bandaru Dattatreya (Secunderabad), Ch Vidyasagar Rao (Karimnagar), TDP leader in the dissolved House K Yerran Naidu (Srikakulam) and Congress spokesman S Jaipal Reddy (Miryalaguda).

State Home Minister and senior TDP leader Tulla Devender Goud (Medchel), Forest and Environment Minister Ch Ayyanapatrudu (Narsipatnam), Telangana Rashtra Samith (TRS) president K Chandrasekhar Rao (Siddipet) were among candidates who were in the fray for assembly polls.

The Lok Sabha constituencies which went to polls today were Srikakulam, Parvathipuram (ST), Bobbili, Visakhapatnam, Ankapalli, Mahaboobnagar, Nagarkunool (SC), Nalgonda, Miryalguda, Hanmakonda, Warangal, Khammam, Badrachalam (ST), Peddapalli (SC), Karimnagar, Adilabad, Medak, Siddipet, Nizamabad, Hyderabad and Secunderabad.

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, October 06, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals