Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Attack on Parliament

The December 13 terrorist attack on Parliament House was carried out by five Pakistanis.

india Updated: Mar 10, 2006 21:56 IST

The December 13 terrorist attack on Parliament House was carried out by five Pakistanis whose objective appeared to be to get inside the Parliament and kill as many politicians as possible, and the entire operation was under the guidance of Pakistan’s Inter Services Intelligence (ISI).

Delhi Police Commissioner Ajay Raj Sharma said the entire operation was carried out by the militant outfit Jaish-e-Mohammad with the help of another militant outfit Lakshar-e-Taiba.


All the slain militants had entered the Parliament complex through Gate No 2, with AK rifles, 9mm pistols, grenade launcher, grenade shells, hand grenades and improvised explosive devices, and resorted to indiscriminate firing.

All five who were involved in the attack were Pakistanis —- Hamza, Haider alias Tufail, Rana and Raja under the leadership of Mohammad, who was also killed in Parliament by the security forces during the attacks.

The breakthrough came with the help of intelligence agencies picking up Syed Abdul Rehman Gilani, a Delhi University lecturer of Arabic in Zakir Hussain College (Evening), on December 15, who was in constant touch with the slain militants.

He provided vital clues to the investigation revealed two more persons Mohammad Afzal and Shaukat Hussain, who had been in touch with the militants.

In fact, during investigation the officials found out that Mohammad Afzal was the main co-ordinator of Jaish-e-Mohammad in Delhi, and a member of the Jammu and Kashmir Liberation Front (JKLF).

Prosecution files appeal on January 31, 2003 challenging acquittal of Afsan in other offences and seeks enhancement of sentences against all the accused.

On October 29, 2003, HC acquits Geelani and Afsan while confirming the death penalty awarded to Afzal and Shaukat.

First Published: Mar 10, 2006 16:15 IST