Updated on Apr 04, 2004 03:36 PM IST

Caste is the deciding factor here which has elected former CM Veerendra Patil.

HT Image
HT Image
PTI |, New Delhi

Caste is the deciding factor in this constituency which has the fame of making former chief minister Veerendra Patil a victor and yet another former chief minister Late Ramakrishna Hegde taste defeat.

Until now about 8 people belonging to Lingayat and one each belonging to Ganiga and Kuruba Community have been elected to the Lok Sabha from this constituency. Congress won the constituency from 1967 till 1991. Later in 1996 H Y Meti of Janata Dal belonging to Kuruba Community and in 1998 Ajaykumar Sarnaik of Lokshakti were elected. In 1999 R S Patil of Congress was elected. R S Patil won the elections by 76,434 votes. A total of 8 Assembly constituencies come under Bagalkot Lok Sabha seat, of which 7 are from the same district and Ron from Gadag district.

Except for two Assembly constituencies the rest have Congress MLAs. Mudhol Constituency belongs to reserved (Scheduled Caste) category.

In the last Assembly elections, the Congress candidates contesting from Badami and Mudhol won the elections with small margin. Even in Bagalkot, the BJP candidates won the elections with less number of votes.

From the Hungund Constituency Late S R Kashappanavar had won the elections, however his wife won the same with great majority recently after to his death. Presently, the political scenario of the district has changed after the death of Ramakrishna Hegde.

A majority of the JD (S) members including the district President have joined BJP and the party is trying to break the Congress juggernaut.

Assembly Constituencies in Bagalkot are: Bagalkot, elected MLA PH Pujar(BJP), Mudhol (reserved), elected MLA RB Thimmapur, Badami, elected MLA BB Chimmankatti (Congress), Bilagi, elected MLA JT Patil (Congress), Guledgudd, elected MLA SG Nanjayyanmath (Congress), Hunagund, elected MLA Gauramma Kashappanavar (Congress), Jamakhandi, elected MLA RM Kaluti (Congress) and Ron, elected MLA GS Patil (Congress).

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, September 28, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals