New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Aug 24, 2019-Saturday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Saturday, Aug 24, 2019

BSP retains three LS seats

The party retains all three seats — Mirzapur, Robertsganj and Bilhaur — with convincing margins, reports Rajesh Kumar Singh.

india Updated: May 13, 2007 05:14 IST

The BSP’s grip over the electorate in Uttar Pradesh in the assembly elections was also reflected in the Lok Sabha by-elections held in three constituencies. It retained all three seats — Mirzapur, Robertsganj and Bilhaur — with convincing margins.

The by-elections were held after the resignations of the three BSP MPs — Lal Chandra Kol (Robertsganj), Narendra Kushwaha (Mirzapur) and Raja Ram Pal (Bilhaur) — for their alleged involvement in cash-for-query scam.

The party’s tally in the Lok Sabha remains at 19.

BSP candidate Ramesh Dubey won Mirzapur Lok Sabha seat defeating his nearest rival Ramrati Bind of Samajwadi Party. Former bandit queen-turned-actress Seema Parihar was in the fray in this constituency that used to be represented by late bandit queen-turned-politician Phoolan Devi.

Sunil Shastri, former Prime Minister Lal Bahadur Shastri’s son, also fought from here.

A former BJP candidate, Shastri has floated his own outfit, called Jai Jawan Jai Kissan Mazdoor Congress.

In Bilhaur, Anil Shukla of the BSP defeated Lal Singh Tomar of the SP. In Robertsganj, BSP nominee Bhai Lal Kol too defeated SP candidate Pakaudi Lal.

First Published: May 13, 2007 05:11 IST

more from india