Counting begins in Gujarat | Latest News India - Hindustan Times

Counting begins in Gujarat

PTI | ByPress Trust of India, Ahmedabad
May 13, 2004 08:46 AM IST

Electoral fortunes of 162 candidates, including Dy PM LK Advani will be revealed by Thursday afternoon.

Counting of votes for 26 Lok Sabha constituencies and two Union Territories in Gujarat began on Thursday amidst tight security.

HT Image
HT Image

Electoral fortunes of 162 candidates, including Deputy Prime Minister LK Advani eyeing a third consecutive victory from presitigious Gandhinagar seat and four other Union Ministers will be revealed by afternoon.

Hindustan Times - your fastest source for breaking news! Read now.

State BJP president Rajendrasinh Rana, is also seeking his fourth term from Bhavnagar constituency.

Apart from BJP leaders, former Gujarat PCC president Shankersinh Vaghela and four sitting Congress MLAs are also in the fray in this saffron party's bastion.

Counting is being held at 22 headquarters spread across 26 districts across the state and the election commission has made adequate arrangements to ensure updating of results on its website.

Unveiling 'Elections 2024: The Big Picture', a fresh segment in HT's talk show 'The Interview with Kumkum Chadha', where leaders across the political spectrum discuss the upcoming general elections. Watch Now!
Share this article
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Saturday, February 24, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On